you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

2006-2007 “Fashion”: From Bound Women to Dead Women

22.jpg01.jpg

In 2006, bondage was all the rage on New York fashion runways.  I didn’t think it could get any worse.

nyt-mag-noose-fashion-spread.jpg

28562489.jpg

I was wrong.  In 2007, it’s all about the dead women.

These are actual photos of this and last year’s “fashion.”

Thanks to Profacero who posted the link to news about the dead-woman fashion at Rachel’s Tavern.  Rachel proposes a letter-writing campaign.

I agree, and then let’s move on to revolution.

Heart

Discussion

16 thoughts on “2006-2007 “Fashion”: From Bound Women to Dead Women

  1. BDSM! It has nothing to do with what they want to do in the privacy of their homes. It has all to do with trying to make everyone else cheer them on, to have everyone else join in with their ideal of the perfect orgy (someone must die always). If not, who but consenting people would ever know about their actions? In other words, “the internal voice is telling me I am going too far, but I don’t want to be wrong, so please validate me and tell me I am right, join me.”

    Posted by chasingmoksha | March 23, 2007, 8:46 pm
  2. Those images are appalling. Thanks for the comments. I feel so frustrated in knowing how to rebel against the fashion industry. Just when you think it can’t get more degrading . . . what do we do???

    Posted by S.L. | March 23, 2007, 9:20 pm
  3. Death imagery (or more accurately, dead-woman imagery) has always been prevalent in fashion. I think you could pick up a Vogue from any month over the past 5, even 10 years and see ads with dead or dying women in them (I do flip through Vogue occassionally but mostly I’ve just noticed that there is always some dead-woman Vogueish ad in the back of Ms. Magazine in the “No Comment” section. You know, the section where they showcase men’s hatred of women through advertising media).

    I always found it interesting how closely all fashion models resemble zombies, what with the vacant stares and the painful, disjointed poses. It’s you can almost hear them thinking, “I WANT TO EAT YOUR BRAAAAAIIINSSS.”

    And I can hardly blame them. If I were that thin, I’d be thinking about eating just about anything too.

    Posted by Sassafras | March 23, 2007, 9:40 pm
  4. It’s disgusting on so many levels, but as a care-giver to young women I SCREAM inside at the deadly message being sent to our girls! I have an anorexic student (maybe more than one, but one that I know of!), and she could die from the abuse she is giving her body in order to live up to these “ideals.”

    If tobacco victims can sue tobacco companies, how about victims of eating disorders suing fashion magazines?

    Posted by roamaround | March 24, 2007, 1:30 am
  5. This is DISGUSTING! I also hate how modles look like 13year old boys! GRRRR!

    Posted by say no to christ | March 24, 2007, 5:21 pm
  6. Gingermiss, I used you letter, with a few minor changes because I don’t have a sister. Thank you for writing and sharing that, you said it well.

    But I still feel like there should be something more that I can do.

    Posted by Beansa | March 24, 2007, 6:37 pm
  7. Heh, I got an automated email back from tyra’s fan mail address. They will be sending me an autographed picture of her in the next 4-6 weeks.

    Woo!

    Posted by Beansa | March 24, 2007, 11:43 pm
  8. I know, when I saw that I laughed. :) Thank GOD I can finally have the autograph of such a noted feminist activist.

    Posted by gingermiss | March 25, 2007, 6:23 am
  9. I wonder, though, if there is any way to actually get our message to her. There are a lot of women protesting on a lot of blogs, and I think Ms Banks needs to hear it.

    Posted by beansa | March 25, 2007, 7:05 am
  10. I viewed the ten photographs in the series, and read the ‘commentary’.
    Sickening. Just sickening.

    Chasingmoksha *smile*, you really must stop coming out with so many astute observations, you are making the rest of us look bad!

    This morning I also put together a slide show (the first PDF file) of similar images from UK Lads’ Mags:

    http://stormcloud.wordpress.com/activism-lms/

    (sorry, but it is a huge file, and will take ‘five minutes short of forever’ to load)

    The Vogue Italia shoot of late last year was bad, but this lot have really trumped them.

    Posted by stormy | March 25, 2007, 1:39 pm
  11. [Heart, I've been spamulated again!]

    Posted by stormy | March 25, 2007, 1:40 pm
  12. I made a slide show using the ANTM pictures & domestic violence stats. It’s here if you want to check it out.

    Posted by beansa | March 26, 2007, 1:03 am
  13. Sorry, I had to fix a typo so here is the new location for the slideshow:

    Posted by beansa | March 26, 2007, 9:47 am
  14. beansa, great slide show. Thank you so much for pulling that together.

    Posted by uppitybiscuit | March 26, 2007, 10:18 am
  15. Excellent work beansa.

    Posted by stormy | March 26, 2007, 3:45 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: My Letter to Tyra « http://gingermiss.wordpress.com/ - March 24, 2007

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 2,476,080 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 237 other followers