you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

Blog for Radical Fun Day!

May 5 is the day for radical/progressive bloggers to blog about what makes us happy, let our hair down, go barhopping at one another's blogs and exclaim over how much we like each other,  then head over to brownfemipower's for whatever.  Rock!

Things that make me happy!

My garden!

Heart's garden

This is a shot of my 2004 garden.  I am fortunate to have a small farm, 6.5 acres, which I was able to buy courtesy of the Religious Right, whom I sued the pants off of in 1997, which is a story that does NOT make me happy or put a smile on my face, except that I sued them and I won!  In federal court!  That was one of the happiest moments of my life.

Anyway, this was one of the best gardens I have ever had.   I spend many, many hours out there every spring, summer and fall.  I garden organically and sustainably in a garden space of about 40 x 100 feet and grow herbs, vegetables, fruit, and lots of flowers.  I also have a small orchard with cherry, apple, pear and elderberry trees.

My sheep make me SO happy!

Cher with sheep

I have been raising sheep since 1991 now and I love it. 

Here's a picture of the first sheepies we had with Emily and Naomi when they were little girls, ah!  They are so grown up now, 15 and 17.

I am a vegetarian and we don't eat our babies.  Mostly I love and enjoy them.  I do shear them, and I wash, card and use their wool in various ways.  I have a spinning wheel, but I am not really a spinner yet.  All in due time!

My radical kids make me happy!

Hosanna and Emily at the World March of Women

These are two of my daughters, Emily, 17, and Hosanna, 19. We participated in the handoff of the Global Women's Charter from the U.S. to Canada last spring as part of a World March of Women action.  Hosanna created our amazing sign. 

We staged a protest immediately following Katrina and Emily created this image of one of the photos we took:

Katrina protest

My cats make me so happy, I have 11 of them, but alas, no current photos!

Good tawny port makes me happy, the music of Nedra Johnson makes me ecstatic — more on that later on today — the Michigan Womyn's Music Festival makes me happy, and all of my many feminist transgressions make me happy, damnit, it's true.

I will write more about them  later.  Gotta start somewhere!

Heart

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Blog for Radical Fun Day!

  1. Sheep and 11 cats wow! I’m enjoying todays fun blogging. So much diversity. It’s great reading all about people’s real lives. Your daughters look adorable. Have fun.

    Posted by deviousdiva | May 5, 2006, 1:36 pm
  2. Its great to see rad women loving their gardens and country life. Your garden looks wonderful – I also grow my own veggies and have 14 different fruit trees – sadly this year I will be late with the spring planting as am now in the city until June.

    Posted by sokari | May 5, 2006, 4:12 pm
  3. Hey, sokari, thanks! 14 different fruit trees, wow. I, too, love meeting radical women who are into gardening and country life. A stream runs alongside my property which is a protected natural habitat for Chinook Salmon, an endangered species– I love it and love protecting it. I think the work we do in the country is all about women, healing the earth.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | May 5, 2006, 4:24 pm
  4. Oh, and deviousdiva, I posted to your blog but wanted to say here that it’s awesome to meet radical feminist gardeners and musicians, yay. I added you to the blogroll, not sure how I have missed you so far!

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | May 5, 2006, 5:21 pm
  5. Oh, I’m in awe of your garden. I garden indoors (apt. dweller), but someday…

    And I dream of living on a farm. I’m fixated on goats.

    Posted by spotted elephant | May 5, 2006, 6:47 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,557,827 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos