you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

Rain and Thunder: Call for Contributions

CALL FOR CONTRIBUTIONS

Rain and Thunder: A Radical Feminist Journal of Discussion and Activism is looking for contributions for several upcoming issues We welcome women’s writing from radical feminist perspectives and writing that contributes to radical feminist ideas. We are interested in theory, opinion, strategy, action updates, news, reviews, and upcoming events.

Contributions can be sent via U.S. mail or email to Rain and Thunder, PO Box 674, Northampton, MA 01061, USA

rainandthunder@yahoo.com.

SUBMIT TO NOONE! CONTRIBUTE TO RAIN AND THUNDER!

Issue #33 — Annual Activism Issue

What does radical feminist activism mean to you? What does it look like in your life? In your community? What are your strategies as an activist for creating a culture of resistance? What are your tactics? What do you do to prevent burnout? What activist stories give you hope? Who are activists that inspire you?

(DEADLINE December 5, 2006)

Issue #34 — On Women’s Writing and Literature

What women’s writing has changed your life? How does writing in your life shape or sustain your politics and activism? What obstacles do radical feminist writers face? How can we support and assist each other in writing and publishing our stories and our work? How do women record their life experiences if they don’t have access to writing or literacy? How do oral traditions play a part? What is the role of archives in uncovering or restoring women’s and feminist herstory? What books are missing from the shelves of the feminist library (and when are you going to write them?!)? If you were to have every woman read three books what would they be and why? What books have you been reading? Write a book review! Send us your words!

(DEADLINE March 5, 2007)

Issue #35 — On Spinsterhood

Feminists have devoted much discussion to the topics of feminist motherhood and feminism and marriage, but the issues facing feminists who, by choice or by happenstance, do not have children or a life partner are often ignored. What is feminist spinsterhood? How does one become a spinster? What are the cultural representations of spinsters? Do Lesbians and women of color face different life issues as spinsters? At what age does one become a spinster, and does the answer to that question mean that all spinsters face ageism? What are the caretaking needs of old spinsters, and how can we as a community care for one another if we choose not to have children or primary sexual relationships? Contribute your celebrations and explorations of the solitary feminist woman.

(DEADLINE June 5, 2007)

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Rain and Thunder: Call for Contributions

  1. Oooooh, s***. Like, my unpublishable article on Gloria Anzaldua, unpublishable because I do not have a Hispanic surname (unless I fake it, using my cousins’ surname, which I do not want to do since they are bona fide Fascists) and everyone knows I am straight … so I cannot criticize Gloria Anzaldua. Like on never having been married. Like on how my best female students could be working somewhere other than Champagne’s Superette or Blockbuster Video, had they and their families not decided they had better, no, best stay with these very staid guys they are with. Like how my student with the very most potential got black eyes from her man just before finals, and plagiarized her paper in an attempt to save the day. Like how she dropped out for a semester, and then lost her restaurant job, and how we were, despite the plagiarism, ready to give her a scholarship to study abroad because she has, otherwise, quite a decent record, especially given her history, and this would wipe that man out of her mind. Like how the fact of losing her restaurant job makes it impossible for her to come back to school and study abroad despite the scholarship. Sh***t, I do not have anything exalted enough to submit!!!
    And no, I am not being “bitter”, I am just being real at this moment!!!

    Posted by profacero | October 28, 2006, 5:41 am
  2. Oooooh, s***. Like, my unpublishable article on Gloria Anzaldua, unpublishable because I do not have a Hispanic surname (unless I fake it, using my cousins’ surname, which I do not want to do since they are bona fide Fascists) and everyone knows I am straight … so I cannot criticize Gloria Anzaldua.

    All right, profacero, no fair throwing this out there and just leaving it hanging.😛 Are you up for saying something about Gloria Anzaldua? Come on. Courage! 😛

    And yeah, I hear you times a googleplex re your students. One of my favorite women’s groups has a song, “Show Us” — beautiful, women’s a capella voices — that goes, in one part, “Show us/who we really are/cause we’re not all straight/and it’s not that great/if you are.” I have an article in my brain which I am going to write one of these days about what “het privilege” means for girls and women (as opposed to boys and men.) Gotta work my courage up first. 😛

    Still would like to read about Gloria Anzaldua though…

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | October 28, 2006, 3:58 pm
  3. OK! Really I should just send you the piece. It’s sort of passe now but was written when the Borderlands book was hot, and discussions of hybrid spaces were hot. It was my response to all the ballyhoo. My issue with the exaltation of hybridity and mestizaje in English and postcolonial studies was that it was framed in very similar terms to the Latin American nation projects of the 20s and 30s, which were sold as antiracist but which actually worked to write the non-hybridized (i.e. Indians, Blacks) out of national consciousness altogether, while the whites appropriate pieces of their cultures and call themselves hybrid (ergo, good). I am convinced Anzaldua makes a similar gesture in that book, and I know she misunderstands/misrepresents the Mexican sources upon which she draws. So the book works as a romantic meditation on writing, and as a vindication of a lesbian consciousness, but not as a serious, theoretical take on cultural identity. I see the book as coming from a very mainstream, U.S. place, albeit a liberal one. This is my opinion.

    What burned me about it was not that some people disagreed. (Typically, people who knew Spanish, got my point, and people who didn’t, didn’t.) What burned me was white straight English professors saying that if perhaps I knew a little about the plight of the poor suffering immigrants, I might understand the book better. People who have probably never met such an immigrant in person, and who were probably still voting Republican while I was walking the line, as a child, for Cesar Chavez. Sanctimonious white ladies, newly converted, being officious. Saying it was only all right to see the book as less than perfect if one had the same subject position as Anzaldua. Disrespecting Anzaldua and Xicana writing, thus, by treating it as a hug fest as opposed to as a field as valid as any other.

    Posted by Professor Zero | October 29, 2006, 1:23 am
  4. Dang. That sounds like a really interesting piece of work, Professor Zero, thanks for posting this, very provocative. I wish I knew Anzaldua’s work well enough to respond intelligently, but I don’t, but now am provoked to read and get up to speed. I know what you mean re letting something you’ve written get outdated. I have an article I am really proud of about femicide in the wars in the former Yugoslavia, but I was so determined to make it perfect — and hence less vulnerable to critique; what I wrote about, Catharine MacKinnon’s work defending rape-for-genocide victims, was controversial among feminists — that I let it get outdated. Now it sits there, getting old. :/

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | October 29, 2006, 3:56 pm
  5. I may have to do this.

    Posted by Amananta | October 31, 2006, 2:44 pm
  6. I don’t know much about rain and thunder. I tried to look them up but it seems they don’t really have a web presence, or that they did at one time but not now.

    Can anybody tell me more about this publication? Jeepers, I know I’m behind, but my curiosity’s piqued here.

    And I have no idea how to get hold of a copy of this journal, which don’t help none.

    Posted by Elaina | November 2, 2006, 7:41 am
  7. Hey, Elaina, Rain and Thunder is an awesome publication. There are three radical feminist publications that I know of in the US/Canada, Off Our Backs, Rain and Thunder, and Trivia. Sinister Wisdom is kinda sorta, but it is more a lesbian publication. Trivia published for a long time and was awesome, started up again, but doesn’t publish regularly yet. Off Our Backs and Rain and Thunder publish regularly and have for many years, and of the two, Rain and Thunder is, I would say, the more consistent so far as strictly radical feminist politics. OOB branches out a bit. 🙂 RAT is an old publication gong back to the Second Wave, amazing womyn, great writing, grassroots and shoestring. If you e-mail them at that e-mail address up there, they’ll tell you how to get a copy.🙂 You’ll like it.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | November 2, 2006, 1:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,558,171 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos