you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

“Thanksgiving, Hope and the Hidden Heart of Evil”

In stories told by the Dakota people, an evil person always keeps his or her heart in a secret place separate from the body. The hero must find that secret place and destroy the heart in order to stop the evil.  I see, in the “First Thanksgiving” story, a hidden Pilgrim heart. The story of that  heart is the real tale than needs to be told. What did it hold?  Bigotry, hatred, greed, self-righteousness? We have seen the evil that it caused in the 350 years since. Genocide, environmental devastation, poverty, world wars, racism.Where is the hero who will destroy that heart of evil? I believe it must be each of us. Indeed, when I give thanks this Thursday and I cook my native food, I will be thinking of this hidden heart and how my ancestors survived the evil it caused.

Read Jacqueline Keeler’s entire post at Tiyospayenow.

I posted this last Thanksgiving (note that the comments are therefore from a year ago!) but think it’s well worth re-posting so those new to Women’s Space can become acquainted with Keeler’s blog.   I love writers who, like Keeler, are able to inspire hope, no matter how disturbing the era of history or issue is that they are writing about.

Heart

Discussion

6 thoughts on ““Thanksgiving, Hope and the Hidden Heart of Evil”

  1. Heart,

    Thanks so much for this. I have bookmarked her site, and now will read it daily. What a gift!

    Until the Gift Economy replaces the exchange economy, we will be crushed beneath the patriarchy. Ownership is the dynamic basis of the patriarchy.

    Mary

    Posted by Mary Sunshine | November 23, 2006, 4:46 pm
  2. Thanks for pointing the way to another great piece of Keeler’s writing, Heart.

    Posted by Blue | November 23, 2006, 11:43 pm
  3. Mary Sunshine and Blue, thank *you* and you too, profacero for those links. I’m right there with you, Mary Sunshine, re a gift economy.

    Well, our dinner is over, we are all stuffed, my refrigerator overfloweth with leftovers for days. It’s interesting– only seven at my table this year, which for some is a lot, I know, but that’s a very small crowd for me. 🙂 And the youngest present was 8– no babies, no toddlers, no yelling and hollering, no excited littles running through the house, no playroom strewn with toys. It’s all over, my house is nice, tidy, candles burning, nice tunes on the CD player, just…very pleasant and adult and nice and I love it. More than that, I love the thought of three more days off, ahhhhhhhh. Nobody has to persuade me to refuse to shop tomorrow, I am not only refusing to shop, I am refusing to get *dressed*. 🙂

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | November 24, 2006, 4:51 am
  4. When I was little, a neighbor used to come to our bus stop and yell at us because all this land once belonged to the Indians and we took it from them.

    We had kid’s discernment, so we knew she was crazy.

    As an adult, I know now she had a point.

    But what can we do about so many ills. The sins of all our ancestors weigh heavily on all of us.

    I think I can only love in my space, in my world, where I am now. And beg Jesus: Have mercy on us, and on the whole world.

    Posted by Eliza | November 24, 2006, 6:10 am
  5. Thanks for posting that article.

    Do people still shop on the day after? I had to go do grocery shopping and the mall didn’t seem too bad on Friday. There were people sitting on couches and lawn chairs not too long ago in line to get in for a new video(?) game or something like that. I’m not sure how many days ahead of time they started appearing.

    I went to a Christmas decoration lighting downtown and I couldn’t believe it but over 50,000 people showed up. Body to body for blocks, I had never seen anything like that in my years here. They had some good fudge on sale and kettle corn but the lines were miles long.

    Posted by Radfem | November 28, 2006, 9:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,563,403 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos