you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

Subscribe to OOB/Read “Confronting the Religious Right”

OOB 35th Anniversary Poster

This is a shameless plug for off our backs, a publication I have been writing for, working with, helping to guest edit for some months now.  The issue hot off the presses is on Women and Fundamentalist Religion and includes my article, Confronting the Religious Right.  While in general, I’m proud of my work, I rarely am really, really pleased with something I’ve written.  This article, I am very very pleased with.

Subscriptions/renewals to oob are $25 per year for four quarterly issues or $5 for a single issue.

Subscribe!  (You can also buy the 35th Anniversary Poster at the top of this post.  OOB’s been a voice for radical feminism for over 35 years now and is the oldest still-existing radical feminist publication in the United States.)

Heart

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Subscribe to OOB/Read “Confronting the Religious Right”

  1. I subscribed to OOB at the end of September and have not yet received a single issue. Do you think I should wait to see if the Dec. issue comes or do I need to get in contact with them and see what goes?

    Posted by Branjor | December 6, 2006, 8:59 pm
  2. Nah, I think you’ll get this issue fine. Yay you subscribed! You got in just a bit too late for the military issue but you are on time for this issue so I’d think it’s fine. Of course, go ahead and check if you want!
    🙂

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | December 6, 2006, 9:18 pm
  3. Branjor, when I subscribed a few years back, it was after an issue that I really wanted had come out, so I emailed and asked the oob sisters if it would be possible to start my sub with that previous issue- they said sure, no problem. If you really want the military issue, I’m sure you could ask to have your sub start w/that one. Of course now they’re probably massively busy getting this new issue out, so you may want to wait or just order the mil. issue singly, hell, order a bunch of back issues if you can, it’s so worth it.

    Posted by Melissa | December 6, 2006, 9:31 pm
  4. Sorry, this is off topic, but has anyone one seen this?

    Wis. city apologizes to rape victim.

    It is some good news and justice for women. Well, sort of.

    Posted by jodie a.c | December 6, 2006, 10:31 pm
  5. great blog; just stumbled on it. jesse, nairobi, kenya.

    Posted by Kenyan Analyst | December 7, 2006, 5:21 am
  6. I would, if I had a penny to spare right now. This is an issue that I’m very interested in (and have written about before myself). Good luck with future articles.

    Posted by tender [hooligan] | December 7, 2006, 8:58 am
  7. From the archives of OOB, get the July-August 2003 issue. There is an excellent section on women and psychiatry in it. This is from a free issue of OOB I got in the mail once. Don’t know why I didn’t subscribe right then.

    From one of the articles: “Psychiatry is dependent on coercion, and claims it’s only used on people who are a “danger to themselves or others”, and “for their own good”. But it’s always been used against disapproved behaviors – like certain political beliefs and sexual preferences. No one is totally free from the risk of forced treatment.” Later in the article: “Mainstream feminism and progressive movements in general demonstrate a disturbing lack of empathy with recipients of mental health treatments. Unlike other causes, in this case they ally on the side of the powerful, relying on the “experts”….”

    Also, the great majority of recipients of mental health “services” are women. Modern psychiatry started during the witch burnings in Europe. It justified the persecution of women by labeling the murdered women (not their murderers) “mentally ill”. It used to be that any man could have his wife locked up if he didn’t like her or if she didn’t do the housework. My own experience in the mental health system had all of the elements of a witch burning.

    The article also says many people feel helped by the treatment, but those hurt by psychiatry may find their negative experiences ignored or dismissed as isolated incidents. As to this last, I have to say that while I was in treatment I personally never met another patient who was enthusiastic about the treatment, and I met hundreds of them.

    Posted by Branjor | December 13, 2006, 2:13 pm
  8. I should have said “…had all the elements of a *modern day* witch burning.”

    Posted by Branjor | December 13, 2006, 2:16 pm
  9. Branjor, that is a fantastic issue and is, in fact, the one I wanted, no needed, so badly that I asked them to make my sub retroactive.

    BTW, Heart, I could have sworn that subs are 29.95 now? I just renewed and I pretty sure that’s what it was.

    Posted by Melissa | December 13, 2006, 5:53 pm
  10. I’m sure you’re right about the subscription price, Melissa. That quote from the old issue of oob is awesome branjor. That’s it in a nutshell, isn’t it? Psychology has been used to regulate sexual orientation and political beliefs. It’s also been used to regulate women’s behaviors and bodies.

    Not our friend.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | December 13, 2006, 6:34 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,563,471 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos