you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

hollow-cheeked

 Mystery Woman

I want to be a hollow-cheeked woman of mystery
coming down the street
in my black clothes and grey vest
the outlaw lover
long-haired lesbian
mythical bitch.

Want them to tell my stories in
Tallahassee
Amherst
Washington, D.C.
and
New York City

Such a legend I would make
lean, fast and
largely unknown
but mysterious
fascinating
always provocative
hollow-cheeked
which is the first problem.

Did you ever notice how the famous ones
are always thin?

I could be thin.
I could be very good at leanness
if you did not taste so good
so good with chocolate, so good with gravy
so filling, the legend, you, my appetite
rich, delicious, mesmerizing
like fine sherry with a sharp edge
or attitude with tight pants.

— Dorothy Allison, from The Women Who Hate Me, Poetry 1980-1990

Discussion

9 thoughts on “hollow-cheeked

  1. LOL. Dorothy Allison wants to be me! 😛

    Posted by Luckynkl | January 1, 2007, 5:08 am
  2. I loved this. Beautiful.

    So. “You’re thin Lucky”, she asked as she offered her a slice of triple chocolate death by fudge cake with mocha ganoche rosettes.

    Posted by Medea on Crack | January 1, 2007, 8:57 am
  3. Actually, the thin part wasn’t what I zeroed in on. I was looking more at this image of a lesbian outlaw with attitude, often thought in legend by others to be a mystical, 7 ft fire breathing dragon, just strutting down the street like I own it, in my black clothes and vest (mine has a 4″ picture of the tasmanian devil imprinted on it just above the flap), as I go from city to city (including all those listed above), like I have so often done. Altho yuck, not in tight pants and long hair. I prefer short hair. And we’d definitely have to skip the tight pants. I don’t like anything that’s tight and confining and restrictive of my freedom and movement. I wouldn’t be so lean, mean and fast if I did.

    Am I thin? Well, I don’t really like that word. It conjures up too many images of diets and anorexia and being unhealthy. Which I’m not. I’m very solid, well proportioned and healthy. I have the bone structure of a child (and embarrassingly enough, am often mistaken for one), so I’m just not very big in either size or weight. It’s hereditary so blame my parents. I’m no more responsible for the lot of genes I got than anyone else is.

    I’ve been an athlete most of my life, so yeah, I have well defined muscle tone, even tho I haven’t exercised in years. Some kamikazee blot clots put an end to that. That too, was hereditary. A genetic blood factor. A silent killer than can sneak up on me at any given moment and end my life in an instant, without warning. I’ve already had some pretty close calls where I’ve woken up in ICU staring the grim reaper right in the eye. I just sneered at him. 😛

    So you win some, you lose some. Life isn’t a picnic for anyone. We all have our cross to bear. So go ahead and pass me that cake. Life is short, so let’s enjoy it and live it up while we can. Besides, I consider chocolate a basic food group anyways. 😛

    Posted by Luckynkl | January 1, 2007, 6:19 pm
  4. Are you kidding? Pass you the cake? You think there’s any cake left for you?

    Heh.

    Pony

    Posted by Medea on Crack | January 1, 2007, 6:45 pm
  5. Oh, just see how you are, Pony? Well, fine. Black Forest cake is my favorite anyways. And being my partner just whipped up some Decadent Triple Layer Mud Pie the other day, I have my choice of either or both. There’s also a pumpkin pie in the fridge just begging to be eaten. So what do you think about that?

    You can tell me in an hour or so after I get done eating. 😛

    Posted by Luckynkl | January 1, 2007, 7:18 pm
  6. I think it’s such a beautifully written poem. I have read it several times. So well crafted.

    Posted by Medea on Crack | January 1, 2007, 9:11 pm
  7. Yumzers! The cake, that is.

    Posted by Branjor | January 1, 2007, 10:51 pm
  8. Great poem!!! I liked the rhythms of the last stanza, mmm sensual.

    Posted by profacero | January 1, 2007, 10:56 pm
  9. It’s a heart stopper Branjor.🙂

    Posted by Medea on Crack | January 1, 2007, 11:19 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,557,956 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos