you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

White, Male, Racist, Sexist, Lesbophobic, Ableist, Heterosupremacy in a Nutshell (Warning, May Trigger)

I’ve been brewing a post for a while about the comments I get here which never see the light of day, but this particular one struck me as particularly representative, and it is also a good illustration of why I, and other radical feminists, must carefully moderate our blogs.  It’s also a very good example of the thought life of a large number of American men, given the number of commments like this which I spam.

This is one of thousands of men who ended up here on his quest to see up-skirt shots of Britney Spears.  It’s interesting the opportunity we have, as radical feminist bloggers, to gather information and evidence as to the kind of things men want to see based on the search terms that result in their visiting our blogs.  The commenter, of course, posted in full the words I have x’d out.

laguna loire:    well i just hope that both of u`r parents get leuchimia and your wife (cause you are a lesbian right?) get hit by a truck full of dildos and if ever you get kids i’ll hope they get kindnaped and then savagly raped by a gang off n****** with huge cocks

ps: happy new year b****..

Heart

Discussion

12 thoughts on “White, Male, Racist, Sexist, Lesbophobic, Ableist, Heterosupremacy in a Nutshell (Warning, May Trigger)

  1. Heart,

    I’m so sorry that you have to read things like that in order to provide us with this precious environment.

    You are in my thoughts.

    Mary

    Posted by Mary Sunshine | January 7, 2007, 10:16 pm
  2. Hey, thanks, Mary. Actually, these comments don’t get to me really– I’ve developed a pretty thick hide in all of these years on the internet, pissing people off with my radical ideas. 😛 I do go through some interesting mental, emotional and political gymnastics, though. I think about the way you never know what man is thinking this way. Most men look “normal.” They might be pleasant, courteous, say “yes, ma’am,” and “no ma’am,” might smile, make small talk during the course of the day. But that’s their thought life, that right there.

    It’s interesting, too, these guys like this (1) can’t spell; (2) have no concept of grammar or punctuation; (3) have difficulty forming coherent, logical sentences; (4) write things that are just preposterous and absurd as though everybody knows it’s true and believes it. The mind boggles. But I, being the kind of person I am, guided by hope and a belief that all human beings deserve to be treated fairly, am at a distinct disadvantage, in that I feel bad making note of what lousy spellers they are, rotten thinkers, and so on. I feel like I’m being really mean, elitist, classist, even– even though this is what these guys are writing! Plus, sometimes the things they write are hysterically FUNNY, they are so illiterate, and again, I feel like I’m really mean, classist and elitist to laugh about it, at least publicly, even though they’re threatening rape, murder, and you name it!

    Well, I’m going to write another post with some excerpts of what these clowns attempt to post here.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | January 8, 2007, 12:18 am
  3. Heart that those guys write and think like that doesn’t surprise me. It’s the kick in the teeth you get when the PhDs do it.

    Posted by Pony | January 8, 2007, 12:54 am
  4. Greetings,
    It certainly is disturbing to receive comments like this… and sad. Such omnipotently~ anonymous~ hatred is usually the result of intense self-loathing. I know the percentage of these types of commenters is mostly men but there are a surprising number of women spewing word-violence, as well.
    I enjoyed reading your blog and cruised all through your links. Very nice. 🙂
    Please feel free to link me. Don’t let the name put you off… it’s just something that happens to me all the time. My damage; not yours…lol!
    Be well,
    Natalie

    Posted by callmegrandmaandillkillu | January 8, 2007, 1:37 am
  5. Thanks for confronting this, Heart. I think it’s important, ugly as it is. As an aunt of a beautiful, kind male teenager and the teacher of many such teens from all over the world, I marvel at how insidiously this hatefulness gets indoctrinated as they grow into manhood.

    They are not born that way. I’ve seen boys moved to tears over violence against women, vowing that they’ll never do such things. But we know many of them will because of the pressure to be “men” as it is conceptualized under patriarchy. You have to be carefully taught. The angry white male syndrome we see here (and behind the wheels of so many SUVs!) must come from a profound sense of threat that the entitlement they were raised to consider their birthright is being usurped.

    We have to keep on educating (aka threatening) until and unless they get used to the idea that it’s not their world after all. Some haters may be too far gone, but there’s hope for the young. As least I have to cling to that as school starts up again tomorrow….

    Posted by roamaround | January 8, 2007, 2:14 am
  6. Hey, Callmegrama/Natalie! I will check out your blog. 🙂 Great thoughts, roamaround, so glad you have continued to post!

    I have a little 11-year-old son who has basically always been raised in a feminist household. I have a 10-year-old grandson who has also been raised in a feminist household. They are sweet little guys, soft-hearted and kind as you describe. My son is completely aware of misogyny and often points it out when he sees it or hears it, along with racism, homophobia, classism, ableism, looksism, sizeism. It’s in his blood. It’s what he hears and knows. His (and my other kids’) favorite songs are songs like “Flight 93” by Melissa Etheridge about the gay man who was one of four passengers who wrested control of the airplane hijacked by terrorists which went down on Pennsylvania farmland, or ME’s “Scarecrow,” about the brutal murder of Matthew Shepard, “Downpressor” and other Bob Marley songs, and other consciousness-raising, conscious songs. My son has gone along to many peace/anti-war/anti-Bush demonstrations, knows about Martin Luther King, Gandhi, Marcus Garvey, all the great feminist leaders. I just keep hoping and praying that as he enters adolescence, things don’t go sideways. I’ve got GREAT grown sons who are wonderful role models, so I have high hopes. But he will increasingly hear the kinds of things I have posted today that men say and think. I just hope he will be strong and stay true.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | January 8, 2007, 4:03 am
  7. You may have thick skin, but that’s really bad in term of comments and they still cause fear, and hurt on a level that builds up the more you have to read them. That’s a scary person out there.

    I’ve got some like that and l’m still not forgotten them. I actually saw one of my visitors who apparently had written something racist and made some vague threats against me and prayed for harm for me and my family. He was about 5’6 and looked about 16. He was a police officer in my city and I sat and watched him receive his award from the city and listened to the captain talk about how he was an example of the exciting young blood in the department. That was hard to be hit in the face with the knowlege that a person who did that could actually be held up as a role model.

    I commented on my blog about “little” men, meaning immaturity, and I got a comment back about me sounding taller on the radio. Whatever.

    Lots of the time they’re bad spellers, bad with grammar.

    It happens young though with some men though. My two encounters with teenage men consisted of them yelling “Nice tits” and “You slut” respectively from cars.

    Posted by Radfem | January 8, 2007, 4:43 am
  8. i think all people should be free to walk without prejudice and racism as long as they are not harming any body everything should be just fine black people are human beings with the same level of intelligence or even more als9o gay people should be able to live their lives for those of us that have a problem with them we should try and reach out to them and counsel them try and see things from their point of view and see if we can help them change and as long as people are on earth we are all going to be different so its better that we just get on with life and do what we have to do and focus on bettering ourselves and letting others be i know this and i am just 14

    Posted by dillon | January 9, 2007, 5:10 am
  9. Rock on, young dillon. Stay true. Keep the faith, as we used to say in the days when being a revolutionary was not unusual. You are our hope for the future.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | January 9, 2007, 5:17 am
  10. I guess the guys who have poor spelling and grammar must be “engoneers.”

    Posted by Metal Prophet | January 10, 2007, 3:30 am
  11. This may not be that relevant, but there is no way that comment was from a grown man. That was most definitely from some stupid adolescent teenager throwing a tempertantrum during a hormanl mood swing. How do I know? Laguna Loire is the name of character from a very popular fantasy RPG known as “Final Fantasy VIII.”

    No way was that a man. That was most definitely a young kid with anger issues.

    Posted by John | February 22, 2007, 9:49 am
  12. John, I hear you, but my experience is there are a whole bunch of grown men who behave as this man does (and who have defended him. You should see all the comments from these guys which I haven’t approved!)

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | February 22, 2007, 4:50 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,557,703 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos