you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

Koufax Awards?

 

Huh.

First I wrote this:

All right, all you radfems and radfem wanna bes and radfem allies and radfem supporters and people-who-like-radfems-in-spite-of-yourselves 😀, go here and nominate our blogs and various individual posts and series for Koufax Awards!  Hurry up!   I went over there in Internet Explorer (don’t do that, use Firefox), so I couldn’t read all that much, but GEEZ, it’s all the same old people, lots of men, liberals, liberal feminists, and all the regular mutual admiration societies and good ‘ol bloggers.  We know our writings are the best.  :P  Maybe we need to start our own awards, for woman-centered blogs, woman-centered blogging, something like that.  

Then I went through and added trackbacks to all the radfems and radfem allies/supporters/lovers😛 on my blogroll.

Then I started to think, “But wait.  We don’t really even believe in competitions like this, we’re all about mutuality, cooperation, consensus, win/win, power with, we’re against hierarchies, and so on.”

Then I thought, “Well, but it’s all in good fun, and competition isn’t always bad, we’re not in the post-revolution yet, maybe it keeps us motivated when we might not otherwise be.  And besides, Heart, you have no sense of humor.”

Then I thought, “But wait.  This is totally, totally political.  How could it not be?  And in political events of this kind, radfems will always get the short end of the stick, the left foot of “fellow”-ship.”  (But I sort of covered that in my first paragraph by saying “maybe we need our own contest.”)

So I’m pasting trackbacks and thinking as I go through and paste each one of all of the amazing posts I’ve read on each one which should be nominated, although probably very few people have ever even read these amazing blogs, so they probably won’t get nominated.

By the time I’m done, I’m thinking, now I don’t know about Koufax awards.   Maybe we need something woman-centered instead, which honors the best post from every radfem’s (or pro-radfem man’s) blog, or the best series, from each person’s blog,  or the best woman-centered posts from all sorts of blogs, radfem or no.  And then maybe categories like, “best analysis,” “best new theory,” “most consistently woman-centered,” “funniest from a woman-centered perspective,”  “most controversial,” “most over-the-top,”  and so on.

Well, it could be an interesting discussion. 🙂

Heart

Discussion

40 thoughts on “Koufax Awards?

  1. I think a rad-fem blog awards would be awesome. The whole goal of the Koufaxes is not the competition, but to open people up to new blogs and to build community. But it is way too general, and I think new, more specific events would be the next step.

    It is a tremendous amount of work, however. Just to give you a heads up, particularly if you make it completely open, as in, anyone can be nominated, not just a small group from some pre-ordained “experts” (like the Bloggies.) That’s where people get exposure, and can fatten up their blogrolls and reading lists.

    Just my $.02. And you have been nominated for a Koufax, btw. That was how I ended up here, making sure I had the right URL.

    Posted by MB | January 11, 2007, 1:58 am
  2. To hell with the Koufax crap.

    Posted by Rich | January 11, 2007, 3:20 am
  3. Yes. To hell with the Koufax crap. I’m not nominating or voting or donating.

    Posted by Pony | January 11, 2007, 3:30 am
  4. To hell with the Koufax crap.

    4 real doe! [sic]

    Same shit, different day. I left high school May 1981.

    Posted by chasingmoksha | January 11, 2007, 4:16 am
  5. Well, all I know is, I don’t know too many people who write like Yawning Lion or Amy’s Brain Today do, or who make me think, and get me saying to myself, yeah! that’s right!, like chasingmoksha, or who expand my horizons like profacero, or who fire me up like Womanish Words/Lynn Sweeting, or who affirm and encourage me, like ginmar, or who keep me focused like laurelin, radfem, v, bea, sazz, morgaine, Athana, Aletha and so many others. I think we need our own revolutionary, Koufax-mocking, woman-centered version of the “Koufax Awards.”

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | January 11, 2007, 5:05 am
  6. Why do people contribute money for the Koufax Awards? I don’t get that.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | January 11, 2007, 5:06 am
  7. I read somewhere recently (Creek Running North blog?) that their server was down, or swamped this time of year or something. The contribution thing may have been initiated by someone other than the couple who started the Koufax Awards. That’s the sum of my knowledge, except that Echidne of the Snakes has gotten deserved recognition in the past because of it.

    Posted by Blue | January 11, 2007, 5:20 am
  8. “Yawning Lion or Amy’s Brain Today do, or who make me think, and get me saying to myself, yeah! that’s right!, like chasingmoksha, or who expand my horizons like profacero, or who fire me up like Womanish Words/Lynn Sweeting, or who affirm and encourage me, like ginmar, or who keep me focused like laurelin, radfem, v, bea, sazz, morgaine, Athana, Aletha and so many others.”

    Some new reading there for me, but the one’s I recognize, yes indeed. And I can think of others too.

    Posted by Pony | January 11, 2007, 6:13 am
  9. I’ve read some amazing blogs by women this year so I’m going to submit their names although I can’t load the site’s page in a way that I can write in the comment section.

    It’s amazing that women all over the world keep blogging about amazing people and places as well as important issues. I get discouraged some times and even get scared. This week, well it’s been a bit scary but women blog while under occupation, while in the middle of wars, while in hiding and they don’t stop putting the truth out there. That’s humbling to those of us who live in more comfortable circumstances.

    Posted by Radfem | January 11, 2007, 7:31 am
  10. So true, radfem. Like I say, you keep me focused. 🙂

    Well, Women’s Space got nominated for Best Blog. What a nice thing to do, whoever did that, even if I’m being a stinker about the Koufax awards!

    I think we’re pretty darn good, too!

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | January 11, 2007, 2:55 pm
  11. What do you all women think are the best posts here?

    My favorite posts, off the top of my head, are:

    The Rape of the Hadji Girl Series
    The Iranian Women’s Protests Violently Suppressed post
    The Truth About Men about the Craig’s List experiment
    The Post about the election of Daniel Ortega

    But that’s off the top of my head. I like my Full Quiver posts, too, and my posts about the Religious Right.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | January 11, 2007, 2:58 pm
  12. Huh. I also got nominated for best writing. Sniff.

    Thanks whoever nominated me!

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | January 11, 2007, 3:50 pm
  13. Thank you for reminding me about the koufaxes. Yes, I’m going to nominate you as well. I’m also giving Twisty Faster a best writer nod.

    My 2 cents: I understand why people are less than enthused about these awards; however, they do give exposure to lesser known bloggers. I know I’ve discovered new bloggers through the Koufax awards.

    So, I look at this as an opportunity to introduce some of my favorite bloggers to a wider audience.

    Heart, I can’t decide between the Ortega and the Hadji Girl series. Maybe I’ll nominate you for both. . .

    Posted by gayle | January 11, 2007, 5:25 pm
  14. “I’m also giving Twisty Faster a best writer nod.”

    If she doesn’t win something it will be proof of radical feminist inferiority, if she does win, her winning will itself be proof that she’s a racist, oppressive bigot, and either way, certain parties won’t be able to shut up about it. Which is what the awards really enGender.

    To hell with all these reindeer games.

    Posted by Rich | January 11, 2007, 5:49 pm
  15. True enough.

    Nevertheless, I have the itch to get busy nominating…

    Posted by womensspace | January 11, 2007, 5:51 pm
  16. I mean honestly. It’s a TRAVESTY if “Dance Like Know One’s Watching,” by Yawning Lion, isn’t at least nominated. Or any number of Amy’s Brain Today’s posts. Or ginmar’s posts that sometimes have me smiling and laughing and amening to myself for days. Ginmar is a GREAT writer, very much underacknowledged, I think. Or some of the great stuff Ann Bartow finds and writes about. Or the way Hijabi Madness just consistently churns out woman-centered news, all of the time, tirelessly. Or Tiyospayenow’s post on Cecilia Fire Thunder which was *amazing*. Maybe I just want to see these people nominated so, as others have said, others read them, and also, because damn, they do such fine work.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | January 11, 2007, 6:00 pm
  17. “Or some of the great stuff Ann Bartow finds and writes about.”

    Yep, I’m nominating a series of hers as well.

    Rich, as I thought I wrote above, I not nominating people so they will win or lose. I’m just nominating people so others are aware they exist. And I have to nominate Twisty for writing because she’s a writing phenomenon, IMO — one of the top three on these internets and the other two have already won.

    Once I get back from work, I’ll have to go look up “Dance like Know one’s Watching.” I’ve never heard of Yawning Lion before. See, this is what I’m talking about!

    Posted by gayle | January 11, 2007, 6:12 pm
  18. Well can’t we just have a thread here where we SUGGEST good blogs we’ve read, without making it a contest.

    Posted by Pony | January 11, 2007, 6:23 pm
  19. Yeah, kind of what I was thinking, pony. 🙂

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | January 11, 2007, 6:24 pm
  20. Heart you nail it even when you’re commening in your own thread. There are a couple of those I’d spike.

    Posted by Pony | January 11, 2007, 6:24 pm
  21. Even then people get left out, that’s always the problem with these things!

    Posted by womensspace | January 11, 2007, 6:25 pm
  22. And yes, Twisty’s a fabulous writer and person. Look what she’s done this year so difficult for her, and look what she’s done. I’m not nominating voting or donating.

    Posted by Pony | January 11, 2007, 6:25 pm
  23. “It’s a TRAVESTY”

    Is it? It is a travesty not to be nominated for something, anything, or not to be nominated in an arena that men give a shit about (and the women who give a shit about men and what they give a shit about).

    The idea of the Koufax awards is that bloggers, and their so-called medium, are a discriminated against minority compared to the John Stossels/Barbara Walters/etc. of the world. Not only is that absurd, it’s also, well, absurd.

    For example:

    Off the top of your head, name ten new (as in the past two years) feminist blogs.

    Now, name ten new feminist websites that aren’t blogs.

    Tripple dog dare you.

    Posted by Rich | January 11, 2007, 7:06 pm
  24. ^ I was being rhetorical with the dare, no need to answer! :O

    Posted by Rich | January 11, 2007, 7:13 pm
  25. Some of those are almost 10 years old though!

    Posted by Rich | January 11, 2007, 11:03 pm
  26. I think they’re all updated regularly though, with the exception of Feminista.

    But heck, here’s some more for ya:

    Off Our Backs
    Rural Womyn Zone
    Diana Russell
    The Freesoil Party
    Radical Women
    Feminist Peace Network
    World March of Women
    Feminist Majority Foundation
    Global Sisterhood Network
    🙂

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | January 11, 2007, 11:19 pm
  27. But I do know what you’re saying. There aren’t that many really good, regularly updated feminist websites.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | January 11, 2007, 11:25 pm
  28. Um, hello???

    http://www.feminist-reprise.org

    And also:

    “By derision–a bad word, but once again the English language is much in need of new words–is meant that you refuse all methods of advertising merit, and hold that ridicule, obscurity, and censure are preferable, for psychological reasons, to fame and praise…

    For if you agree to these terms then you can join the professions and yet remain uncontaminated by them; you can rid them of their possessiveness, their jealousy, their pugnacity, their greed. You can use them to have a mind of your own and a will of your own.” (Virginia Woolf, Three Guineas)

    http://feminist-reprise.blogspot.com/2005/12/words-from-women-iii.html
    🙂

    Posted by Amy's Brain Today | January 12, 2007, 12:08 am
  29. Sorry, Amy’s Brain Today! Your website would kick the llama’s ass if I weren’t all about loving the animals including llamas. 😛

    And GREAT quote.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | January 12, 2007, 12:11 am
  30. “There aren’t that many really good, regularly updated feminist websites.”

    Why would anyone bother, there’s no awards for that anymore.😉

    Posted by Rich | January 12, 2007, 2:10 am
  31. While I agree with and/or appreciate many of the sentiments expressed here, I have to say I’m not a fan of the Koufax Awards because some of the winners have a very different idea of what “liberal” means than I do. see e.g.:

    http://www.nyu.edu/classes/siva/archives/002909.html

    Posted by Ann Bartow | January 13, 2007, 12:04 am
  32. I think the majority here were not going to take part Ann. I hope Heart or another of the rad fem blogs will host a thread where we list some of our favourite feminist blog posts over the past (within memory). Just favourite, no ranking, no contest.

    Posted by Pony | January 13, 2007, 12:29 am
  33. I’m on it. 🙂

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | January 13, 2007, 6:01 am
  34. i like different blogs for different reasons. i feel amys posts in my gut. mad sheila musings often has me openly laughing, alyx is so witty. i think of witchy woo as a big sister, wise and supportive and an embodiment of “woman centred”. there are so many others, perhaps best described by the emotion they most often raise in me – laurelin, hope; bea, anger; amananta, reflection.

    i dont know about my favorite ever posts. i think many of my Hell Yeh! posts, are probably over on feminist reprise.

    Posted by v | January 14, 2007, 12:31 am
  35. Hell Yeh! V.

    Posted by Pony | January 14, 2007, 12:40 am
  36. Actually, I ran into some good blogs through Koufax. It’s kind of cool to read through them.

    I’m just thinking about surviving. I’ve been harassed and now I have got police chiefs and city managers running around town telling anyone who cares that I’m being investigated or that I’m obstructing an investigation, trying to instigate something(what, I’m not sure), doing my own investigation(which only six months ago was the butt of jokes by the police chief at his cozy board meetings) and doing something that was “almost a crime”. I think it’s about a shooting that police did last year which doesn’t look very good for them because even though the comments are vague as they always are in situations like this one, it’s always in the context of that incident.

    That’s why I guess they have a problem with me writing and I guess even blogging on this shooting and not the half dozen others I have also written about. I mean, I heard a rumor that the Asst. city manager is under investigation by the county grand jury for allegedly threatening a woman with his gun, but it’s not like I’m bringing it up in every conversation I’m in. Have some decorum.

    Still, blogging beats therapy and it’s got fewer side-effects.

    My town bites. But at least the friend of mine whose mentally ill son was beaten by police officers and then was charged for it, has a good public defender. Even the judge was questioning his case.

    Posted by Radfem | January 19, 2007, 7:42 am

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,563,201 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos