you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

Note on Moderation

I apologize for the inconsistencies in the way my blog is being moderated right now.  The way it’s supposed to work is, those who have had at least one comment approved will not go into moderation unless:

1.  They use one of the words on my (gigantic, unfortunately) moderation list in their comment;

2.  They use more than two links. 

I hope no one takes the fact of their comments being moderated personally.  For example, I sometimes include posters’ names on the moderation list in order to screen out trolls who attempt to comment just to attack a particular commenter.  But that means that the commenter also ends up in moderation! 

Anyway, at the moment, some of my regular commenters’ posts are getting through and some aren’t, some new commenters’ posts are getting through and some aren’t,  and the result is confusing comments threads, especially in that when I moderate  after I’ve been gone all day (like today) I end up approving comments that are way  up-thread from the later ones which went through without being moderated.  Argh.  I will probably have to ask commenters to register in order to post soon.

I apologize for the confusion.  One more thing:

Henceforward I will not be approving comments from those who do not include a correct e-mail address.  In other words, if you make up an e-mail address, like, nunofyerbusiness@nowhere.com, I will not approve your comment.   Regular commenters here all provide their correct e-mail address when they comment, and so it seems only right to me to ask that anyone who wants to participate in comments threads here include their own accurate e-mail address as well.

Thanks,

Heart

Discussion

20 thoughts on “Note on Moderation

  1. Testing?
    Did I make the grade????
    No linkies, no rude words (not my usual style), and the stormy addy.😉

    Posted by stormy | February 4, 2007, 2:44 am
  2. Yer always in, stormy. 🙂

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | February 4, 2007, 3:19 am
  3. Cheers Heart – but noticed my comments on the VRR thread got the furrowed brow of moderation!

    Posted by stormy | February 4, 2007, 3:36 am
  4. Yeah, well, you probably wrote “Rich” somewhere in there. 😛

    Hee.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | February 4, 2007, 3:40 am
  5. Spell it: R!ch … then you’ll be OK.
    🙂

    Posted by MarySunshine | February 4, 2007, 4:39 am
  6. I’m wondering if I make the grade…😉

    Posted by ghostlove | February 4, 2007, 12:44 pm
  7. Mod on noteration.

    Do I make the grade?

    Posted by Branjor | February 4, 2007, 4:56 pm
  8. Branjor, “mod on noteration, ”😀

    I don’t know why your comment went into moderation exactly, but I *think* it’s because there is a “J” in your name. :/ One of the “words” on the moderation list is “J,” because someone named “J” wrote racist comments to pony. If you look at Bea’s, Mary Sunshine’s and Stormy’s comments, there are no “J’s” in them.

    The “J” person intentionally tried to mess with the moderation that way, I believe, not only because the name was “J,” meaning if I modded him, I’d have to mod all “J” comments, but also because he had a strange e-mail or blog name which sort of defied modding and I can’t remember what it was now.

    Anyway. Thanks to everyone for your patience.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | February 4, 2007, 5:45 pm
  9. Testing…

    I don’t comment much but when I do you wouldn’t want to miss it😉

    Posted by witchy-woo | February 4, 2007, 6:05 pm
  10. the “j” theory would also expalin why all of my comments go into moderation.

    Posted by nexyjo | February 4, 2007, 6:22 pm
  11. I don’t care if I go into moderation…it’s your site! I don’t comment often but I enjoy your highlighting violence (that prolly puts me in :-p) against women as well as the debate about the place of all the different women, all the different feministisms, all the different people within “feminism” and the world. Keep it up! And keep yourself & readers safe.

    Posted by Miko | February 4, 2007, 6:23 pm
  12. Ouch, I got snagged.

    Posted by uppitybiscuit | February 4, 2007, 8:08 pm
  13. Heart,
    You could actually put ‘the suspect persons’ email addresses into the mod list? (Provided they use the legit ones)

    All of my posts on VRR are going into mod😦
    (I’m starting to crack your list of ‘ouch’ words now!)😀
    …but it won’t stop me using them AHA!😉

    Posted by stormy | February 4, 2007, 10:44 pm
  14. I think I tripped the wire when I accidentally typed in the C word.

    All accidental, and I’ve had a talkin to my fingers.

    Posted by uppitybiscuit | February 4, 2007, 11:09 pm
  15. Nice quilt header on the blog, just noticed it. Didn’t know where else to comment about it.🙂

    Posted by stormy | February 6, 2007, 11:41 am
  16. And dang, my “Q” comment went into mod.
    Not even allowed to use the *Q* word? That’s strict !

    Posted by stormy | February 6, 2007, 11:42 am
  17. There’s a “j” in that comment that’s why it got modded. :/ I think I should take out the “J” from the mod list. That person probably forgot all about this place by now.

    And thanks for the compliment, it is nice, isn’t it. 🙂 I’ve been dinking around with stuff for a while, finally decided to change a few things.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | February 6, 2007, 3:16 pm
  18. OT: Minister Called ‘Completely Heterosexual’
    Peer Group Recommends Ted Haggard Move Out of Town

    http://news.aol.com/topnews/articles/_a/minister-called-completely-heterosexual/20070206140909990001

    Posted by chasingmoksha | February 7, 2007, 5:09 pm
  19. Sigh. Well, for those who might not have read my posts on this, they are here and here

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | February 7, 2007, 5:17 pm
  20. Perhaps I should have added the LMAO! But it is so funnily (sic) not funny. He could consult you for a fee and know his future since it is all so predictable with his ilk. Yet they do not seem to know it is predictable.

    Posted by chasingmoksha | February 7, 2007, 5:46 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,557,600 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos