you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

Thinking Blogger Awards

Thinking Blogger Award

I am a normally a conscientious objector to the “meme” or “tagged” thingy😛, but I kinda like the idea of the “Thinking Blogger Award,” and since Witchy-Woo tagged me, I figured, why not, just this one time. 🙂

These are the rules:

1. If/when you get tagged, write a post with links to five blogs that make you think.

2. Also link to this post so that readers can track the meme to its origins.

3. If you want, display the ‘Thinking Blogger Award’ on your blog with pride – and a link to the post you wrote to pass it on.

Of course, there are far more than five blogs which make me think! Everybody who blogs and posts here makes me think!  Everybody who posts here and doesn’t have a blog makes me think! But here goes anyway.

Ballastexistenz  Reading Amanda Baggs’s writings at Ballastexistenz has been and is an ongoing experience of consciousness-raising for me.  Her posts and comments about language, coercion, medicine, psychology, her day-to-day life  as an autistic woman,  are a goldmine.  They continually challenge, provoke and inspire me.  I know Amanda is tired right now because of recent media publicity, and I hope being tagged will be a welcome and energizing diversion as opposed to a burden! 

Radical Goddess Theology  I really appreciate Athana’s thoughtful, interesting and educated writings about the dangers of male deities to all life, about saving the planet, and about the centrality and primacy of unconditional love as modeled by female deities.   I love her writings about mutuality, gifting and gift economies, matriarchy (as not an “-archy” at all), consensus decision-making,  and the importance of bringing the day of the male bully gods to an end.

Stanselen  I am really appreciating Jo, who is an anarchafeminist.  I’ve connected with a couple anarchafeminists recently online, have added them to my blogroll and vice versa, and I am loving reading them!  There’s an old Second Wave article around somewhere in which the author says something like, “Anarchy is the theory, radical feminism is the practice.”  So true!  I connect so well with these women’s writings because at their core, our views are so much the same.  I’ve got a blog post fomenting about anarchy and am looking forward to writing it, thanks, in part to reading Jo and her sister anarchafeminists.

Midwife: Sage Femme This is the beautifully-written blog of a  homebirth midwife who is lesbian mother.  She and her partner are raising their three children together.  I so appreciate Sage Femme’s compassionate, respectful, woman-honoring writings, her amazing birth stories, her counsel in the tradition of wise woman healers and mystics, and her practical, down-to-earth advice.

Amy’s Brain Today  Amy and her partner, Kya, are radical feminist lesbian separatists whose writings and photographs never fail to inspire and teach me, whether they’re writing about the oppression of women,  their land dyke oddyssey, womyn’s community, war tax resistance, woman-only space, radical feminist sexuality, radical feminist history or theory, whatever they write about, they write as thoughtful revolutionaries committed to living the dream in all of its mundane, difficult, frustrating, challenging, heady and nourishing glory.  I’m so glad you two are in the world!  You give me so much hope.

Well, I could go on like this forever.  I would have liked to include Professor Zero, Chasing Moksha, Shannon at Egotistical Whining,  Twisty, Sokari at Black Looks, Trula Mama, Womanish Words, Tiyospayenow, Uppity, Rural Womyn, Ginmar, Compartments, Ann Bartow, Heather, argh, there are way too many women who make me think!  But I have to follow instructions, so those are my five. 🙂

Heart

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Thinking Blogger Awards

  1. I have been reading Ginmar lately. I think she has an incredible amount of energy and gets to the point real fast. I have never commented though, for some reason Live Journal is a pain. And I can never get a comment in at Ann Bartlow’s either. And I never have anything to add to Uppity but “yes I agree.”

    Posted by chasingmoksha | March 2, 2007, 6:34 am
  2. Btw, I am so very grateful that people take the time to read my blog and/or comments here, especially since I am usually pretty hap-hazard in my form.

    And you have added a very good list of reads, —-including your own blog.

    Posted by chasingmoksha | March 2, 2007, 6:45 am
  3. aaah chasingmoksha…you don’t know me but I read your blog avidly. You, too, make me think – as well as making me laugh. Blogging’s a bizarre way of communicating really, isn’t it?

    And Ginmar is way up there in my estimation.

    Posted by witchy-woo | March 3, 2007, 2:19 am
  4. Thanks for the nice words, Heart!

    Chasingmoksha – sorry you haven’t been ablet to comment at FLP. I’ll delete your current registration, and you can try to re-register if you want. The registration is a big pain, but unfortunately necessary. You can also e-mail me comments, which I can post for you, if you prefer not to register but feel there is a comment you’d like appended to a particular post. I read your blog too!

    Posted by Ann Bartow | March 3, 2007, 3:57 pm
  5. Thanks so much Ann and Witchy-Woo. I appreciate all of you and think and learn so much.

    Posted by chasingmoksha | March 4, 2007, 3:54 am
  6. Quality suggestions, thankyou.

    If I am ever tagged, I will certainly join in.

    Posted by morgan | March 4, 2007, 3:37 pm
  7. Hey, Morgan! I tag you! I’ve just “met” you, it’s true, but your blog definitely has made me think. 🙂 I would love to read what five blogs make you think. 🙂

    Tag you are it.
    🙂

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | March 4, 2007, 5:05 pm
  8. I had never heard of doing this before… what a great idea, thanks for posting it

    ~~EK

    Posted by EelKat | March 7, 2007, 4:47 am
  9. I vote (what do you mean I can’t vote?) for Ginmar. Here’s the entry I want you to read:

    http://ginmar.livejournal.com/1025019.html?view=33401339#t33401339

    Posted by Pony | March 7, 2007, 5:51 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Thinking Blogger Awards « EK’s Star Log - March 7, 2007

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,558,126 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos