you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

Off Our Backs

cov200603.gif

I normally write new blog posts more often than I have this week, and I normally respond to more comments during the course of a week than I have this week, and I even occasionally read and answer my e-mails during any given week, but at the moment, I am up against a deadline with Off Our Backs and have to complete my news articles for the upcoming issue.  By tomorrow.  Hence, my non-blogging, non-commenting, non-e-mail-reading-and-writing.

Almost done.  Just didn’t want anybody to think I was being rude, or something was wrong, or something like that. 🙂

While I’m at it, everybody should order the above issue of OOB, on women and fundamentalisms.  It is a great issue, and I am really proud of my contribution to it,  Confronting the Religious Right.

Heart

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Off Our Backs

  1. hmm…. I like this.. I definitely want to read it. Off Our Backs huh? BEAUTIFUL!

    Posted by Divine Purpose | March 16, 2007, 3:24 pm
  2. Hey Heart,

    I’m in.

    That issue looks fantastic and 5 bucks is a steal. I’ll look for you!

    Posted by Gayle | March 16, 2007, 10:56 pm
  3. I am so excited about this!!! Readers here might take it for granted, but few in the gen pop make connections between worldwide fundamentalisms. It’s one of the most important ways women’s oppression gets compartmentalized, masked as “cultural” and somehow made to seem inevitable.

    Connecting these dots leads to an awareness of patriarchy as codified by religions everywhere. The woman in the burqa, the anorexic model, and the born-again virginity pledgers are acting under the same oppressive forces, just manifested differently.

    Can’t wait to read this!!

    Posted by roamaround | March 17, 2007, 2:58 am
  4. Question:

    Do you know, if I order a year’s subscription, if the current issue will be sent? Or should I order that separately?

    Posted by Oni no Maggie | March 19, 2007, 9:54 pm
  5. Oni, you can tell them which issue you would like to start your subscription with. Drop them a note when your order.

    Posted by uppitybiscuit | March 19, 2007, 9:56 pm
  6. Done! Thank you!

    Posted by Oni no Maggie | March 19, 2007, 11:54 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,557,995 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos