you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

Alicia Banks/Eloquent Fury on Imus

Alicia Banks/Eloquent  Fury:

I have been deliberately silent about Don Imus’ free fall from neocon graces. My silence has prompted hate mail from those who erroneously assumed that my silent was consent for a fellow talk radio personality. It was never consent. Correction: It was protest.

I protested the selective hypocrisy of those black men who admirably and righteously attacked Imus for his rabidly racist and sexist slurs against sister athletes at Rutgers. Now, I end that protest and break that silence herein. I do so only because of the deafening volume of the potential fallout of Imus’ welcome and belated firing. I do so because I am unable to be silent anymore.

Read:  On Don Imus — The Sound of Silence

Heart

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Alicia Banks/Eloquent Fury on Imus

  1. Hurrah. A black woman who names it.

    Posted by Pony | April 15, 2007, 3:08 am
  2. That’s pretty much how I feel about the situation. What happened to Imus was an anomaly and an exception. Few are so passionately working to oust the numerous other rabid sexists and racists who have unmitigated power and support.

    Posted by gingermiss | April 15, 2007, 6:43 am
  3. Once again, I stand corrected: “Constantly, Imus has called black male athletes “apes” and “gorillas” on air. Why no outcry then?”

    Posted by CoolAunt | April 15, 2007, 7:26 am
  4. I was thinking this very visible Imus ouster might have had to do, in part, with the fact that Imus is on network television. Other shock talk assholes are on satellite or radio where they can get away with whatever the hell they want. But also, just as I think Imus thought he could get away with what he said because of the Duke events, maybe he got offered up for that same reason, i.e., in response to the exoneration of the white Duke stripperhounds, particularly in that Imus’s comment targeted black athletes. Patriarchists/male supremacists (of all races) operate in that exchange/tit for tat, one for me, one for you, kind of a way. Since the Duke guys walked and that’s bullshit, patriarchists went ahead and anted up Imus for targeting the Rutgers basketball players, something like, we sacrificed a black woman (the plaintiff in the Duke case) to spare a bunch of white male stripperhound athletes, we can’t take Rutgers black woman athletes too, that ain’t going to fly. The Duke plaintiff PLUS the Rutgers women would be way too much. Nobody’s standing for that. Well, some definitely WOULD, but anybody who doesn’t want his head to roll from here to kingdom come in certain ways isn’t going for it. Which to me says that on some level, just about everybody KNOWS what an injustice it was that the Duke stripperhounds WALKED.

    Yeah, CoolAunt, the apes and gorillas thing is horrible. True confessions: until all of this I had never even HEARD of Don Imus. He might have been some kind of icon to somebody for however many decades but I never even knew the sapsucker existed. But I despise these shock talk assholes like no other, for all kinds of reasons. If I had watched tv and had cable television and come upon his sorry ass, I’d have turned the channel immediately while uttering a few choice epithets and curses in his direction.

    But Alicia Banks’s question is SO valid. Why no outcry about the apes and the gorillas?

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | April 15, 2007, 12:20 pm
  5. Also, if you haven’t read Barbara Ehrenreich’s blog article about Imus, you really should. She’s got some great insights in there. She said she listened to Imus thinking he had said what he said in a hateful, misogynist, racist tone, but that’s not how he said it, she said; he said it like he thought he was being admiring of the Rutgers women, something like that, which is a testimony to how stupid and out of touch he is, to think he’s going to be able to pull that one off. But Ehrenreich said another guy who was on with him, presumably white, was the first to say “ho,” also in a sort of reverent way, like, “Those are some ‘ho’s'”, i.e., they’re bad, something like that. Then Imus picked up on the “hos” and added “nappy headed” which is when all hell broke loose, because the guy who first said “ho” doesn’t seem to have been fired, or if he has been, I haven’t heard of it.

    I posted the link to Ehrenreich’s blog post in the Imus thread– it’s worth reading.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | April 15, 2007, 12:32 pm
  6. I think women of African descent should say, “This is bullshit.” In general in being so supportive of men of African descent I think now they have a bit of a “god” complex within their “own” community.

    I wasn’t even raised in a black community and I feel guilty typing this right now, but it seriously needs to be said. While I still feel that the corporate owned media should be looked at. On a narrower level why aren’t more people in charge angry about hip hop, but you know who who is in charge…oh yeah a bunch of guys who are really into God and God is a guy right and racism is a much bigger problem than sexism…

    You know what I’ve never been called a nigger, but I’ve been called a ho lots of times. As a teacher at a juvenile detention school I had the misfortune of looking like one of the students and so that meant that I got to be the target of lots of sexualized comments thanks to rap music. Ok maybe that’s too simply, it’s more than that, but rap music was an easy way to get out their frustration and I was an easy target for their sexual frustration.

    So I got a lot of ho, bitch…in addition to many questions about my sex life and when I complained to the staff that these almost adult boys should be reprimanded more harshly I was told that I was being too sensitive. My assistant who was a guy thought it was all very funny and do you know what, I was one of the teachers that they liked.

    They liked me, but they thought this is how you talk to women. I got so sick of it I left. I just couldn’t stand it. I couldn’t stand being sexualized every single day. I couldn’t stand the staff thinking it was funny and thinking that I should view it as a compliment that they thought I was fine and that I had a nice ass, but if they got upset because I told them they had homework it turned to ho and bitch…

    Nope, I’ve been called a nigger, but I’ve been called a ho many times.

    Oh yeah I don’t teach anymore…

    Lo

    Posted by Lo | April 15, 2007, 9:06 pm
  7. “You know what I’ve never been called a nigger, but I’ve been called a ho lots of times.”

    Interesting, Lo, how heirarchy dictates that you be insulted by your sex rather than your race.

    Food for thought: I’ve never been called a ho but I have been called a whore. Could it be that “ho” was born of necessity? Did black men need a word to differentiate their whores from the white man’s whores, part of that tit for tat that Heart described above?

    Posted by CoolAunt | April 16, 2007, 7:24 pm
  8. You know I don’t know if black men need a different name to insult women, but I’ve been called a “ho” by a rainbow of men (or rather boys, since technically they were not men yet when i was a teacher), thanks to the diversity of appeal of rap music🙂

    I was talking about this to a friend and I realized something else about my teaching experience from hell…that I was the only one called a ho. There were white teachers there , but they only were called bitches, ho was especially for me…I got to be called bitch and ho, because I was special to them.

    I’m not sure if it was because the other women were older than me or if it was because they were white, but the older white teachers they’d smack their hats off of their heads and things like that. The students would have different forms of terrorizing that they would use depending on the demographic.

    The boys were latino, asian, white and black. I was in an odd section of Los Angeles. This was the last stop before kiddie jail in a suburban neighborhood, but its the new kind of suburbia, you know the poor kind.

    I don’t fully blame these boys. I blame the culture that allowed it to happen. The adminstration that didn’t know what they were doing. The para staff that thought they were helping by cheering the boys on so that they could be proper men and just the bs society that makes poverty such a horrible thing in this country, but still I have to admit I’ve never been quite right in the head after teaching there…

    It was like a war and you know as a woman and a caregiver you don’t want to abandon people. You think its your duty to take it. It’s know ones duty to put up with that kind of abuse. Movies like Dangerous Minds and To Sir With Love are just propaganda to make you think you should just try harder and that the adminstration isn’t suppose to do anything. You are simply suppose to go in your magic bag of tricks and make it all better.

    You can’t cure cancer by yourself. You can’t put out a forrest fire with a cup of water and that’s what needs to be stressed to young teachers. They make you feel guilty for not wanting to put up with this kind of insanity…like you’re being selfish because you don’t want to get hurt and have to listen in vivid detail of what some 16 year old would like to do with your vagina.

    I’m sorry, I am way off topic….

    Lo

    Posted by Lo | April 16, 2007, 10:42 pm
  9. “…I got to be called bitch and ho, because I was special to them.”

    That’s wrong on so many levels: being “special” meant being “elevated” to the status of the white teachers, which “awarded” you the insulting sexist label that they were given; as a bonus, you got to keep the insulting sexist label that was yours by default, too. Makes being special sound especially bad.😦

    Posted by CoolAunt | April 16, 2007, 11:07 pm
  10. I think the real point is that political correctness has overcompensated and folded into itself. It has become more of a problem than a blessing. Our society is degressing in that we are still forced to bottle emotion and language. Imus was making a stupid comment like he always does. Because his human nature slipped out, he is fired. Alicia Banks and Co., you’re all fucking fired. Black Entertainment Television… Gee, imagine the opposite…

    Posted by Ok... | April 25, 2007, 4:49 am

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,562,979 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos