you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

Emily Ruth

Emily Ruth

She turned 18 yesterday.  

She is my eighth child, the fourth of my six daughters.  She was born in my bed, in my bedroom, on a warm and sunny afternoon, welcomed into the sunshine by her older sisters, by my best friends, caught by my midwife.  She came beautiful into the world, with wide-open brown eyes, a full head of curly hair, a cupid’s bow for lips.

She’s a writer, a poet, a musician, a brilliant woman, stubborn as all hell (true to her Taurus nature), courageous beyond all reason, and above all, a free, free spirit. 

I expect I will keep on seeing in her the strength, depth, compassion, with which I am so familiar,  having had the privilege of loving her for 18 years.  I expect, above all,  many surprises, because some things never change.

I love you, Em. 

Mom❤

Discussion

17 thoughts on “Emily Ruth

  1. Happy Birthday Emily Ruth!

    In some way it seems like the mother’s “birthday” as well. Or could we say a celebration of “deliveryday.”

    I have a Taurus too, —-turning 8 tomorrow.

    Posted by chasingmoksha | April 26, 2007, 6:09 pm
  2. I amend the “poet” to “one HELL of a poet.”
    The pieces I have seen of Em’s are seriously phenomenal: the Billie Holliday piece she did for our women’s history project at the AGA last month utterly blew my mind.

    Happy birthday, Emily!

    Posted by Heather | April 26, 2007, 6:22 pm
  3. So true, re our birthdays as well, cm. 🙂

    Them Taurus girls are something. One example. Last Halloween, driving through the parking lot of our local grocery store, we passed by two guys in a pickup truck and one of them was applying blackface and was wearing clothing and a hat of the type someone might wear who thought blackface was really just oh-so-funny.

    Emily asks me, “Look at that guy! What is he doing?!” I said, “Looks to me like he’s dressing up in blackface.” She says, “I’m going to go say something to him.” My little 11-year-old son says, “No–o-o-o-o-o-o-o-!! I’m scared! Mom, tell her not to!” Em says, “What. I’m just going to ask him what he’s DOING. I’m not going to just let him do that without SAYING something.”

    So as we sit nearby in the car, she marches up to the passenger side, gestures to the guy, and says, “What are you doing?”

    HAH!

    He says, “I’m dressing up for a Halloween party.”

    She says, “Are you aware that that is really offensive to black people?”

    He says, “I have black friends, and they WANT me to do it.”

    She says, “Yeah? Well, it’s really offensive to me. I just wanted to tell you that. If the wrong people saw you like that, you could be in big trouble.”

    Hee hee.

    Then we went to the store.

    THAT is Emily.

    I could tell some stories about that girl, lots of them. Like last year when we went to Michfest and some of the older Fest workers ended up closing down the Teen Tent early because they were worried about what could be going on in there if adults weren’t around to watch. The workers also posted a list of rules in there. Em, her younger sister, also a Taurus, and other Festie girl teens *burned* the list of rules. HAH!

    Then the teens and the adult Fest workers had a meeting to discuss it, and one had to say, she was impressed by the rules-burning. 🙂

    And the new and improved Teen Tent at Michfest was born. 🙂

    Well, happy birthday, daughter of ChasingMoksha! I also have a Taurus little girl, Maggie. She turns 9 on May 7. I have *four Taurus children.* =:-O All of my kids save two were born between February and June so it’s birthday-party-city around here this time of year. Kinda like my sheep, I had my babies in the spring. 🙂

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | April 26, 2007, 6:29 pm
  4. Ah, thanks, Heather! I’ll make sure she reads. 🙂

    xxxooo

    Posted by womensspace | April 26, 2007, 6:51 pm
  5. The workers also posted a list of rules in there. Em, her younger sister, also a Taurus, and other Festie girl teens *burned* the list of rules. HAH!

    Classic!

    Posted by chasingmoksha | April 26, 2007, 6:53 pm
  6. Happy Birthday Emily Ruth.

    I hope we get a chance to met at your next Fest.

    Uppity.

    Posted by uppitybiscuit | April 26, 2007, 7:18 pm
  7. Hey, Uppity, Em was the first one to get in touch with Fest for this year. She wrote asking for a reduced rate application for herself and a friend. 🙂

    So hopefully you will meet her and she will meet you!

    She’s a Michfest girl, you know, gotta meet all those Michfest Aunties. 🙂

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | April 26, 2007, 7:33 pm
  8. Um, ‘met’ should have been ‘meet’.

    Yeah, we’ll make plans at the other place and work out the details of our paths crossing.

    The younger ones are the future.

    Posted by uppitybiscuit | April 26, 2007, 7:45 pm
  9. Happy Birthday Em!😀

    yer mum’s right- you’re Teh Awesome! Hoping to see you at Fest- I’m doing my best to get there

    Posted by Cinder | April 26, 2007, 7:53 pm
  10. Hey, Cin! Doesn’t seem right not to plan for this year without you!

    I don’t know how it’s going to work this year, but I’m going to TRY to fly, since I can’t take off two weeks, though I sure wouldn’t mind, I loved our road trip. 🙂 But we’ll talk in the “other place” about that– maybe we could rent a car together again if you fly out, too.

    Always with the wheels turning re the Festival…
    🙂

    And we can camp together again too!

    Hopefully ritual! This year more meaningful for me in so many ways I’d love to talk to you about!

    Heart

    Posted by Heart | April 26, 2007, 7:56 pm
  11. Happy Birthday Emily Ruth!

    Posted by Branjor | April 26, 2007, 8:45 pm
  12. Happy Birthday Beauty.

    Posted by Pony | April 26, 2007, 11:14 pm
  13. Your daughter looks like my sister.

    My sister has curly brown hair and I have more, ummm, well my hair is it’s own country, when I was little it had it’s own zip code.

    I saw pictures of your kids when they were little through your other blog and your daughters look just like me and my sister.

    Lo

    Posted by Lo | April 27, 2007, 1:17 am
  14. What a beautiful post. Happy birthday, Emily Ruth!

    Posted by Lindsay Beyerstein | April 27, 2007, 4:16 pm
  15. thank you, womyn! I hope to see some, if not all of you at Fest this year! I applied for the reduced rate app. so lets see what I can come up with! :] thank you all, again! It really means a lot

    Posted by emilyruth | April 27, 2007, 7:08 pm
  16. Happy Belated Birthday, Emily Ruth!! I know this is late but you can still celebrate, right? I mean, isn’t it all about your BirthMonth and not just your BirthDay? 🙂

    Posted by VeggieFem | April 28, 2007, 3:24 pm
  17. Happy belated birthday, Emily! Heart, I have an Aries who turned eighteen on March 21, and since she is my oldest surviving child (and currently my only child–I will update on the forum when I sort things out and stop feeling so ashamed) this birthday has been such a poignant celebration of motherhood as well as of my dd herself. It sounds like your Taurus and my Aries would be such a pair if they ever got together at Michfest!

    I hope that it’s just as wonderful the eighth time around as it has been for me on this first time to look at this young adult and feel the satisfaction of a difficult job well done and the knowledge that there will be a tomorrow.

    Posted by anonymom | April 28, 2007, 7:06 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,563,469 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos