you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

Blue Moon Coming

morrigan-med.jpeg

I love this painting.  In so many ways, it is me, from the blonde hair to the colorful tattooed arms to the labrys (I have two of them, and they look just like that), to the purposeful countenance and firm manner by way of which the woman is taking the bull by the horns. :)

Although this painting is actually a rendering of the Celtic goddess Morrigan, she could also be Freyja, the great Nordic goddess of love, fertility and war whose stories and ways speak so deeply to me.  Her cloak could be of falcon feathers, like Freyja’s is.  Her belt might be the Brisangamen. 

Thanks to Hecate for posting the image on her blog and for the reminder that May 31 is a “blue moon,” meaning the second full moon in the same month, a time for working magic and expecting that it will produce powerful results.  (If you’ve ever wondered what the origin of the phrase “Once in a blue moon” is, now you know!)

I wonder if Akkari is planning anything for this blue moon?  Anybody else?  I’ve got some plans.  I know some good women who, like Hecate, are planning some magic this blue moon on behalf of the earth’s honeybees, which are vanishing.   The beekeepers say if the honeybee disappears from the earth, within four years, there will be no more pollination, no more plants, no more animals, and no more human beings.  (Link)  It’s all connected, and we are all connected — earth, skies, sun, moon, waters, mountains, trees, grasses, fish, insects, creatures, air, human beings.  What touches one, ultimately touches us all.  What harms one ultimately harms us all. 

Heart

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Blue Moon Coming

  1. “The beekeepers say if the honeybee disappears from the earth, within four years, there will be no more pollination, no more plants, no more animals, and no more human beings.”
    There are thousands of insect species that pollinate plants including wasps, butterflies, ants, beetles, and flies. And of course many plants are pollinated by the wind. Losing a single species of hymenoptera will not end plant or animal life on earth.
    Ending human life? Probably not completely or right away, but we will definitely see drastic food shortages if our favorite pollinator goes the way of the dinosaurs.
    The honeybee is useful to humans because it pollinates our selected food crops. These bees are domesticated and bred for easy handling so they can be shipped from one field to another at the handler’s convenience. Humans in “developed” countries use insecticides/herbicides to kill off native insect and plant species and choose to only grow a few types of plants for food. Making these choices has left our food chain in a precarious position. Just as we have become dependent on fossil fuels for energy, we have become dependent on the honeybee to pollinate our major crops.
    I have not seen one report regarding this issue that even discusses the possibility of using other species of insect to pollinate food crops or the possibility of selecting different species of plant to grow to feed us. Our own stupidity will be our doom. Agribusiness sucks.
    On the bright side, even if we lose Apis mellifera and consequently most of the human race, Gaia will keep right on going and growing.

    –looking glass

    Posted by lookingglass | May 23, 2007, 1:19 pm
  2. So true, lookingglass, everything you say there. I’ve long thought, when I think about the beekeepers’ warnings (I have a daughter who is a beekeeper and at one time we had 30 beehives on our property!), but what about the other pollinating insects? On a more sober note, I have observed over the years several times what happens when my fruit trees don’t get pollinated. I live on 6-1/2 acres which I tend with great love. I use no pesticides or chemicals of any kind on anything, including the garden, there are many old-growth evergreen and deciduous trees on my property, and zillions of birds and all sorts of wildlife. My place is surrounded by a 120-some-odd acre farm which is also lovingly tended and respected. But some years, the trees and various kinds of other plants just don’t get pollinated and then there is no or very little fruit. I have observed that increasingly, there is advice in gardening books about how to go out and pollinate your own fruit trees. That might be fine for people with a lot of time and a couple of small fruit trees, but to pollinate an orchard of mature cherry, apple, pear trees or berry bushes? I do not think so! But that the advice is so common says a lot about the problems we are having now of diminished insect populations and vanishing honeybees. 😦

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | May 23, 2007, 3:07 pm
  3. We plan on creating a forest of the spirit in the midst of the city. It is possible. For a brief moment in time we will negate all the destruction civilization has done to Life.

    Posted by Lucid Glow | May 23, 2007, 4:51 pm
  4. I thought honeybees might be on the road to extinction, until I read a story from the Organic Consumers Association about commercial beekeeping practices. http://www.organicconsumers.org/articles/article_5194.cfm After reading that, I think it is no wonder that commercial bees are in trouble.

    I do not know if agribusiness is as stupid as its practices make it seem, but it clearly has no interest in sustainability, biodiversity, or the nutritional value of food. Like other big business, agribusiness only cares about making money. The Green Revolution has been a disaster. Indian scientist Vandana Shiva has a lot to say about that.

    Posted by Aletha | May 24, 2007, 4:26 am
  5. I am a feminist too… it is sad to see the world is back-sliding back to the barbaric practices of suppressing and oppressing the female genders again! What a fellow human can do to another…. SAD!

    Posted by Mira | May 24, 2007, 3:53 pm
  6. Off topic, but I found this article and thought you might find it interesting:

    http://ebar.com/news/article.php?sec=news&article=1840

    Posted by Anne X | May 24, 2007, 8:41 pm
  7. Mira, welcome to you and I will add your blog to the blogroll.

    Anne X, yeah, I’m aware of this particular event. I am writing a blogpost in which I will touch on it a bit, hopefully it will be up by tonight or tomorrow.

    Heart

    Posted by Heart | May 24, 2007, 9:44 pm
  8. I am indeed planning something for the Blue Moon, but both my Moon Charts say it will fall at the end of June. The Full Moon in May was on the 2nd, and the next Full Moon is June 1. There is another Full Moon on June 30th, and that is what both my astrology calendar and my skywatching software indicate.

    In the meantime, I’m getting something put together for my blog regarding Crop Circles, as we are now well into the start of the season worldwide.

    An interesting note regarding honeybees: the organic beekeepers are saying that they are not experiencing any losses at all among their colonies. They think that the pesticides/fungicides that chem-oriented keepers use to control mites and other problems are the main culprit in hive-collapse disorder. Additionally, standard beekeeping has bred for larger size (in part by using a larger comb base in the hives) and when these things are added to the fact that they truck the poor bees all over creation to fertilize crops, it places way too much extra stress on hives that are already having to deal with petrochemical agents, etc. Once again, it shows that it is wiser not to meddle (i.e. attempting to create cookie-cutter industrial agri-bees) or try to ‘improve’ things. What I am guessing we probably need are smaller, organic hives and many more beekeepers so that our hardworking winged sisters can ‘stay local’.

    On a personal note, I’ve planted some wildflowers, gaura, gazanias, and several types of sage in my back yard this year, and I am still seeing lots of bee activity around the flowers. They also like my rosemary. I’m trying to come up with goodies for the bees, butterflies, moths and hummingbirds– since I do not use any pesticides or weedkillers, I am able to grow some native stuff (a.k.a. ‘weeds’) which native butterfly varieties need to reproduce well. Eventually, I would also like to have a protected tortoise habitat in the upper part of the yard, and since most tortoises also like dandelions, milk thistle, and so on, they ought to be happy with what I grow for the butterflies and bees.

    Anyway, I am all for sending good energy to any bees in my area, and I have been issuing spirit-invitations to their energy to let them know that they are loved, their efforts are appreciated, and that my yard is safe.

    Posted by akkarri | May 26, 2007, 6:55 am
  9. I typed an earlier message about the Blue Moon and bees, but I think it might have gotten munched. If it did, in a nutshell, I just mentioned that both my astrology calendar and my skywatching software peg the Blue Moon for the end of June. The Full Moon in May fell on the 2nd, and the next Full Moon is June 1st, followed by the Blue Moon on June 30th.

    If my other message did make it into the queue, feel free to delete this one.

    Akkarri

    Posted by akkarri | May 26, 2007, 7:01 am
  10. Hey, Akkari! I found your munched post. :/ Sorry.

    Here’s what I found about the different ideas about blue moons (in very brief research!):

    What is a Blue Moon?

    There are in fact two definitions for a blue moon. According to the more recent definition, a blue moon is the second full moon in a calendar month. For a blue moon to occur, the first of the full moons must appear at or near the beginning of the month so that the second will fall within the same month (the average span between two moons is 29.5 days). May 2007 will have two full moons: the first on May 2, the second on May 31—that second full moon is called the blue moon.

    Note that the May 31 date applies to most of the Western Hemisphere, including the United States. In the Eastern Hemisphere, the full moon in question will occur on June 1. For that half of the world, the blue moon will be on June 30, 2007.

    And there’s more stuff here.

    I think I will go by your definition because then I have more time to prepare. 🙂

    I’ve had lots of bees happening this year, too; I noticed them buzzing like crazy around the pear and apple trees, and I see the evidence in the number of cherries we’re going to have on the cherry trees.

    I haven’t planted anything yet this year. I am hoping to get out there in the next couple of weeks and get some things in, though. I don’t use any fertilizers or chemicals of any kind in my yard EXCEPT sometimes to deal with humongous slug populations which will mow down seedlings in one wet night around here. Like you, that means I have lots of wonderful, glorious weeds. I mowed the lawn about a month ago and haven’t mowed since and it’s high now, lots of stuff in bloom, and although I am going to mow again, it’s all SO lovely, including all the flowers that people call “weeds”. It’s so green it takes my breath away, like a dizzying, moving green, almost.

    Of *course* that make perfect sense what the organic beekeepers say. Attempts to micromanage and control with chemicals and refusing to honor and respect bees (and all life on earth) is literally killing us.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | May 26, 2007, 2:26 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: All the Colors Are Perfuming « Professor Zero - May 30, 2007

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,557,688 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos