you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

On to the Feminist Hullaballoo!

So, here I am in Arizona with Uppity Biscuit (who looks just like her avatar :D), LuckyNckl and her partner, Stillwater. We are having a BLAST! We are in the process of fomenting this new stage of the radical feminist revolution. HA! We’re about to take off for Santa Fe and the Hullaballoo, about an eight-hour drive. ๐Ÿ™‚

As I have computer access, I will check in as I can; you wimmin feel free to post your random thoughts and ideas in this thread. ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks again to ALL who made it possible for me to be here. I am really excited.

Heart

Discussion

18 thoughts on “On to the Feminist Hullaballoo!

  1. ((( Heart !! ))) ((( Lucky & Stillwater!! ))) ((( Uppity!! )))

    I am so happy for you.

    Happy, happy dances!!!
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Mary

    Posted by Mary Sunshine | June 22, 2007, 12:51 pm
  2. post pictures!! I want to see! xx

    Posted by Pippa | June 22, 2007, 1:04 pm
  3. Have fun!

    Good ol’ Lucky. I bet she can talk some sauce in person. LOL!

    Posted by E. K.(Kitty) Glendower | June 23, 2007, 12:46 am
  4. YESSSSSS FRIENDS๐Ÿ˜€

    Posted by Jeyoani | June 23, 2007, 1:51 am
  5. So I’m on my way out of Santa Fe, flying home tonight from Las Vegas.

    Wow, do I have some stories. I filled two legal pads with notes.

    I have amazing wonderful stories to tell and some not so amazing. The conference was exhilarating and awesome and so, so satisfying and affirming and inspiring and important! And it had some really, really fucked-up moments having to do with bullshit, really disturbing crap, some of which has caused problems all the way up to devastation amongst feminists for decades now and which at some point is going to have to get some resolution, if only by some of us just saying fuck off, and moving forward, and leaving some stuff, and some people, severely, severely behind, going back to grass roots organizing, paper communication, word-of-mouth announcements of things. Argh.

    Can you tell I have some things to write about!!

    I will be writing about ALL of it!

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | June 25, 2007, 12:59 pm
  6. Jeyoani: ๐Ÿ˜€

    Posted by womensspace | June 25, 2007, 1:13 pm
  7. Hey Heart!
    ๐Ÿ˜€

    I know all about that going on for decades stuff.

    And I *totally* agree with you about the going back to grassroots organizing with paper thing.

    I figure Heart, that’s why ** you’re ** here on the planet now.

    Lucky you! ๐Ÿ˜›

    It’s a shimmering moment, that’s for sure.

    Posted by Mary Sunshine | June 25, 2007, 2:34 pm
  8. I’ve been thinking all weekend how much I’m looking forward to hearing about this from you, Heart.

    Posted by delphyne | June 25, 2007, 2:37 pm
  9. Can’t wait to hear about it!

    Posted by Pramiti | June 25, 2007, 4:40 pm
  10. I can’t wait either!

    Posted by Branjor | June 25, 2007, 5:16 pm
  11. Thanks Mary Sunshine, Pramiti, Delphyne, you cuties, mwah.

    xxxooo
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m over at Lucky and Stillwater’s house now; we left this morning from Santa Fe with Stillwater driving and arrived about half an hour ago here. I love Lucky and Stillwater’s little place; it’s wimmin’s space through and through. Uppity Biscuit is here, too.๐Ÿ™‚ Together over the past five days we have dissected, discussed, ranted and raved over, at various points and from time to time :p, the feminist blogosphere, radical feminism, liberalism/progressivism, transgender politics, feminist spirituality, Michfest, the herstory of online feminism๐Ÿ™‚, various chapters in online feminism beginning with the Ms boards (I learned a few significant things and I thought there was nothing more for me to learn!), our own personal herstories and histories, lesbianism, raising children, meeting partners, meeting womyn, land dyke communities, what all the speakers said at the Hullaballoo, various assholes in various online (and real life!) venues๐Ÿ™‚, the future of radical feminism, and all points in between. We loved the Hullaballoo beyond all reason, even though at one point, some of us walked out in disgust. (I didn’t, although I was sorely tempted and would have if I didn’t feel honor-bound to write it all down, or as much of it as I could.)

    At the Feminist Hullaballoo I told Sonia Johnson, Mary Daly, Renate Klein, and Julia Penelope that I loved them so much. I told Sonia Johnson my story and that I found her own story of excommunication from the Mormon church, as told in one of her books, in a women’s consignment shop in Hudson, Wisconsin in the winter of 1996. I told Mary Daly that her work revolutionized my life and set me on my current journey. I met or spoke with Jade DeForest, Sonia Johnson’s companion of many years, Marlis, who with a companion owns 250 acres of wimmin’s land in New Zealand, and whom I first met last year in my “Creating Intentional Womyn’s Communities” intensive at Michfest, lots of womyn at Outland whom I’ll talk about later,๐Ÿ™‚, Margie Adams, Afia Walking Tree, Alix Dobkin, Kim Sook Hwang who has translated Mary Daly’s Gyn/Ecology ; into Korean (imagine that, those of you who have read it. I mean, imagine doing that!), and who is engaged in her own amazing work of recovering womyn’s spirituality in her own ancestral home, Connie and Ruthie Berman of “All the Rooms in the House,” (ohmygod, they are a riot!), Shaba Barnes, Jody, whom I first met at up in Vancouver when we were up there celebrating handing off the Global Women’s Charter from the U.S. to Canada, with whom I then connected at Michfest, and then we met again in Santa Fe! I met and spoke with a woman from the Czech Republic who was operating the table for Santa Fe’s NOW Chapter, women from Code Pink, Fran Day, editor of Sinister Wisdom . ohmygosh, I met so many amazing women! I saw all sorts of women I have met before, too, especially at Michfest, including Maine Amy.

    I spent Friday evening, Saturday morning, and Saturday night, and Sunday morning at Outland, wimmin’s land about an hour and a half out from Santa Fe.

    Wow. What an amazing, amazing, experience, and what amazing amazing womyn I was privileged to meet. I will introduce you to them and to the Outland experience to the best of my ability in my writings over the next days.

    I will write all of it, the good and the bad.

    Lucky just made dinner.

    I am going to eat it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    xxxooo

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | June 25, 2007, 10:57 pm
  12. wow, wow, wow!! it sounds amazing! i can’t wait to hear allll about it! thank you so much for representing, heart, and for making such an effort to record it all for those of us who couldn’t be there. it means a lot!
    i was totally thinking about you/everyone there this weekend!

    Posted by Britta | June 26, 2007, 4:18 am
  13. This is such excellent news! I cannot wait to hear all about it. I don’t have the resources to attend these kinds of functions (most are too far away) and so I’m thrilled when I get a blow by blow from womyn who have been lucky enough to attend. Thank you for representing Heart and thank you for being the eyes for womyn like me who couldn’t attend.

    Posted by bitingbeaver | June 26, 2007, 8:33 pm
  14. I donโ€™t have the resources to attend these kinds of functions (most are too far away) and so Iโ€™m thrilled when I get a blow by blow from womyn who have been lucky enough to attend.

    Definitely agreed. Not only that, but I enjoy hearing about non-mainstream events that I may not have ever heard about otherwise!

    Posted by gingermiss | June 27, 2007, 4:53 am
  15. Wooo– hooo-hooo who hoooo!

    Posted by Gregor- (elfeminista0 | June 27, 2007, 11:37 pm
  16. Enjoying reading your take on the hullaballo Heart. Don’t know how we missed each other, but would have loved to have met you in person (next time,eh?). I hung out with jody (from Vancouver) a lot and got to know Jae from Outland and Barbara Ester too. Really enjoyed Sonia Johnson and have my own bunch of notes to go through. Keep posting and keep on!- Kim

    Posted by Kim Rivers | June 30, 2007, 3:28 am
  17. On second thought Maybe we did meet cause I sure met Lucky and got the best hug in the process! Love the photos!

    Posted by Kim Rivers | June 30, 2007, 3:39 am
  18. Hey, Kim, which womon were you? I saw that Jody was always sort of surrounded. ๐Ÿ™‚ I was at Outland on Friday night and Saturday night (and wish I could have stayed for weeks! Months! Working on it…. :)) Which days were you there?

    Feel free to add your own memories and notes to whatever I write, I am really wanting to create a herstory for us that will not be forgotten while it’s fresh in our minds.

    Branjor, YES!

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | June 30, 2007, 4:28 am

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,557,607 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos