you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

Third Carnival of Radical Feminists is Up at Stanselen!

 kali-1.jpeg

The image of Kali at the Carnival accompanies a link to Sparkle*Matrix’s post, Full Moon, Goddess as Destroyer.  This is interesting to me– I’ve drawn Kali so many times in recent weeks and months from my Goddess Oracle deck, I have stopped counting.  I draw Kali at least once every couple of days, and I promise you, I shuffle the deck!  More than once I’ve drawn twice, and have drawn Kali AGAIN!  On the (beautiful!) Kali card I have it says, “Kali — Endings and Beginnings” and “The old must be released so that the new can enter.”  Kali is the ultimate “get things done goddess.”  And I am going to post more about her over at Sparkle’s. 🙂

Everybody hustle on over to Jo’s place, Stanselen for the Third Carnival of Radical Feminists!  She’s done a fantastic job and there is amazing reading there, even though, as it turns out, I received a bunch of submissions which I should have, and failed to, forward on to her.   But, there’s always the next Carnival of Radical Feminists, so if you submitted something hoping to see it go up in this one, my apologies, but look for it in the next one, which will be over at Arooo’s place.  And while I’m at it, Arooo, is a very cool place with three bloggers, Kitty Glendower, Gingermiss and Absorbant.  If you don’t already visit regularly,  you should. 🙂

Anyway,  send submissions to the next Carnival of Radical Feminists here or here before July 18, and in the meantime, enjoy Jo’s fine compilation of excellent radical feminist blogging!

Heart

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Third Carnival of Radical Feminists is Up at Stanselen!

  1. Thanks so much for the link.

    And more than that, thanks for women’s space. I have just come from Pandagon and Feministe, to see that MEN have taken over threads about FGM, with their predictable belly-aching about how men are circumcised too! Wah wah! (no kidding? they are??? I had NO IDEA!) They have to make everything about them, don’t they?

    Despite heroic efforts from the mods, men colonized the threads.

    Thank you so much for keeping that NARCISSISTIC “Me too!” WHINY BOY SHIT OUT OF HERE!!!!!
    🙂

    Posted by Daisy | June 30, 2007, 4:59 pm
  2. You are welcome, Daisy!

    Men do indeed colonize women’s spaces, wherever they are permitted to participate. It is guaranteed. There are a precious few males who actually get it and do not colonize. I won’t call them men because they are rejecting manhood and that’s a good thing.

    Not to mention the abject stoopidity of men colonizing FGM threads to make them all about circumcision, when FEMINISTS have led the campaign AGAINST circumcision forevermore. I had my first son 35 years ago and didn’t circumcize him or any of my sons. It seemed completely wrong to me, and all of the feminist mothers I knew back then, at least, were in total agreement.

    So, what. Men come bulldozing into FEMINIST spaces to complain about what feminists have always opposed!

    So typical of anti-feminist male boorishness.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | June 30, 2007, 5:16 pm
  3. Good point, indeed, about MOTHERS taking the lead on questioning male-circumcision.

    I hadn’t thought about this until you said it, but I didn’t hear anyone but mothers question the medical establishment’s okey-doke about male circumcision, until well into the 80s.

    I guess the guys assume (of course) that they brought the issue into mass consciousness, but I clearly remember when they were too embarrassed to discuss it at all.

    Posted by Daisy | June 30, 2007, 5:42 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,563,060 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos