you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

News, Announcements

mtshuksan.jpeg 

Mt. Shukshan near Fire & Ice trail where we hiked.

I’ve been working on articles for Off Our Backs; hence, I have not been writing about the Hullaballoo or blogging here over the past few days.  But, I’m almost done.  Watch for a really great interview with BB of the Den of Biting Beaver in the upcoming issue!

I’m going up into the mountains and will be back on Tuesday, so I won’t be around to moderate as usual for a couple of days.  I’m going to lift some of my filters so that hopefully my regular commenters’ comments go through instead of into moderation.  If something gets through that shouldn’t, I will delete it Tuesday when I get back.

I am running for President of the United States on the Free Soil Party ticket.   (Also, check out Aletha’s new article on Feminist Diplomacy at Free Soil.)  If you are willing to support me and you have a blog, blog about it and Aletha will blogroll you at the Freesoil Party site.   A number of you have offered to help!  I’m excited.   It’s time! 

When I get back, I will finish blogging about the Feminist Hullaballoo!  That’s a promise!

See you on Tuesday!

Heart

Discussion

7 thoughts on “News, Announcements

  1. Hey Heart,

    I’m REALLY looking forward to the interview with BB (and I always look forward to oob!).

    That’s awesome that you are running for Pres.! I will definitely blog about it on my *new* blog; could you add it to the list? Thanks.

    I’ve been checking this site like crazy wondering when you would post. I guess I am an addict.😛

    see you in august,

    Laur

    Posted by Laur | July 15, 2007, 6:04 pm
  2. Hi Heart,

    Your link isn’t working– looks like a simple spelling error. Just thought you should know!

    Posted by Gayle | July 16, 2007, 4:26 pm
  3. Universal Jellyfish at http://universaljellyfish.blogspot.com/ blogged about Heart running for President today, sending me an email to let me know. Thanks, Meret!

    Posted by Aletha | July 17, 2007, 4:19 am
  4. Hey, thanks, Laur and Gayle. 🙂 And Aletha and Meret! Thanks for the heads up re that link, Gayle, I fixed it. And look at this nice review OOB got of the Women and Fundamentalism issue! Karla Mantilla sent that along to us OOB women, thanks, Karla! I thought you women would appreciate it. 🙂

    I’m back. I had the best time up in the mountains, and it’s always so hard for me to come back home when I’ve spent time up in the hills. Since I was a little girl, there has been this part of me that feels most like myself, most at peace and at home, in the woods, in the mountains, in the wild places, just in a tent and sleeping bag, even the tent is at times optional. We went up really high, up to Mt. Shuksan near Mt. Baker in the northern Cascades, drove up as high as we could go and hiked a bit. There is still a lot of snow in the hills and most of the trails were closed because of it, so we hiked where we could, making our way across thick patches of snow and ice at times. It was exhilarating. Spring has just arrived in the high mountains here because of the tremendous amounts of precipitation we had here last year and the record snow-packs. So far as the mountain peoples are concerned, it’s April. The avalanche lilies, painted daisies, pearly whites, penstemon, and foxglove are just now beginning to bloom. We stayed in a favorite, rustic, but lovely, old, old campground — no running water, just a pump, no amenities, just outhouses — but our site was right on the bank of the north fork of the Nooksack River in the Mt. Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest nestled amongst old-growth firs garlanded with moss, with trunks so wide, five or six people would have to join arms for the privilege of hugging them in a group tree hug! The green of the maidenhair and other ferns took my breath away; these colors can’t be replicated by humans, or I’ve never seen it. The camp host told us that this year the river is just eight inches lower than the highest he has ever seen it, and I believe it– it was so clear, cold, high, rushing so quickly, and at night it was so loud it kept me awake, but I can never get enough of this kind of music. The night sky was full of stars Sunday night, more stars than are are ever visible at lower elevations. It was all so incredibly, incredibly beautiful. Well, it’s hard for me to come down from that! Every time.

    But I’m here, tired as heck, will be back tomorrow with all sorts of goodies. 🙂

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | July 18, 2007, 6:27 am
  5. Hey, Aletha, make sure you add Feminist Peace Network to the Freesoil blogroll, since they endorsed me in the Independence Day Announcement thread. I love the title of FPN’s post, A Candidate for the Rest of Us.

    Yeah!

    I also love being endorsed by the Feminist Peace Network!

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | July 18, 2007, 12:27 pm
  6. That title does seem appropriate. It would be hard to imagine FPN endorsing a warmonger sellout like Hillary Clinton.

    I should mention Allecto over at Gorgon Poisons was the first to put an endorsement on her blog, AFAIK. Also, just about anyone who wants to be on the Free Soil blogroll can be, just let me or Heart know. Blogging about Heart running is not required. The blogroll is so short because I am relatively new to blogging, have only posted infrequently on a few blogs, and will not assume bloggers I find interesting would want to be listed there.

    Posted by Aletha | July 19, 2007, 4:31 am
  7. A very fine photograph Heart. Did you use a digital camera? I am quite sure I would have messed it up even with the perfect view. Bravo!

    Lovely. Snow top mountains in July!

    Posted by Kitty Glendower | July 20, 2007, 1:36 am

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,563,261 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos