you're reading...
Rape and Sexual Assault

Megan Williams

 amd_carmenwilliams.jpg

This young woman, 20, who stands 5 feet tall and weighs less than 100 pounds, was tortured for a week’s time by all of these people:

14094929_240x180.jpg

Based on what I have read, Megan had had some sort of relationship with Bobby Brewster, 24, one of the men above.  He was bad, bad news.  In the 90s, his mother, bottom row, left, had killed the mother of her boyfriend, with whom she was living.  She went to jail for five years.  While she was in jail, Bobby Brewster, her son,  killed his mother’s boyfriend.  When his mother got out, Bobby Brewster was arrested for threatening her with a machete.   Later, he would also threaten and assault Megan Williams. Finally, he would torture her, together with five other family members, for a week.

About a month ago a neighbor said Megan Williams had run to her house, scared, to say she’d been threatened by one of the Brewsters.  The neighbor encouraged Williams to go to the police.  She did, and domestic violence and assault charges were filed.

My guess is that Megan was tricked into returning to the house, so that the family could make her pay, in the most atrocious manner imaginable, for having dared to go to the police.

La Doctorita says it all here and here.  (Warning, may trigger.) 

Also, link.

Heart

Discussion

82 thoughts on “Megan Williams

  1. Absolutely horrifying.
    I happened to be in a place with TV today (rare) and a cable news channel was on, and there was a few minutes about Megan and her abusers. The focus of the story was whether or not it should be/will be classified as a hate crime. How the fuck could it NOT be a hate crime??
    My heart goes out to Megan and her family, and may her 6 abusers rot in prison for the rest of their lives.

    Posted by Eeni B. Bella | September 13, 2007, 1:00 am
  2. La Doctorita’s writing in the second link is just how I feel. . . otherwise I’m at a loss for words.
    I’d like to begin construction on a spaceship that’ll take me to a planet as far away from this one as possible. Who’s with me? 😦

    Posted by Chloe | September 13, 2007, 1:05 am
  3. Latest news reported: Not a hate crime.

    Posted by E. K. "Kitty" Glendower | September 13, 2007, 2:45 am
  4. I’m with you, Chloe!

    Seriously.. I read about this also and simply couldn’t believe it! What could possibly have created a family like that?

    Granted, I am definitely a cultural dissident.. but wouldn’t have even thought such a thing was possible!

    Peace,

    ~Chani

    Posted by thailandchani | September 13, 2007, 2:49 am
  5. LaDoctorita also captured my feelings. It is like “how can this be happening???” The world is beginning to feel to me like it contains only two separate and distinct groups of people – absolute monsters and those who can’t even begin to fathom the depths of their hatred and viciousness. I hope nobody will be offended by my bringing this up, but earlier today I was also traumatized by reading about the horrible torture and murder by decapitation of a sweet little Pomeranian dog loved by a teenage girl by three teenage “boys” who have no remorse for their acts whatsoever. I think I may want to help Chloe construct the spaceship.

    Posted by Branjor | September 13, 2007, 2:59 am
  6. You can often tell how people treat each other by how they treat their animals.
    I remember reading a news story a while ago about some guy during a barbecue party who put a kitten onto the grill and thought it was funny. .

    ugh. . it makes me sick just thinking about it. I used to think there was no such thing as true evil in the world, but years of hearing stories like these makes me think otherwise.

    Posted by Chloe | September 13, 2007, 4:23 am
  7. Hey, Chloe, Branjor & Thailand Chani – don’t leave without me!

    Mary

    Posted by Mary Sunshine | September 13, 2007, 5:06 am
  8. I haven’t been able to read any of the reports on this without tearing up. That poor woman… stuck with those monsters.

    Posted by hexy | September 13, 2007, 7:58 am
  9. Well, in light of the specifics of the relationship one of the men had with the victim, it does not surprise me that it failed to meet the definition of a hate crime. A crime committed in retaliation against a known victim is horrible, but it doesn’t constitute terrorism against the rest of the people in the victim’s class.

    And, actually, I am a just a tad offended about the swift diversion of our attentions to the cruelties men inflict on animals, in the face of this story about what men have done to a woman.

    And make no mistake, while the female perpetrators will likely be held to the same degree of (if not more) responsibility for these crimes as the male ones, there is no doubt in my mind about the sex of the people who took the lead in the atrocity, and took the most sexual satisfaction from it.

    Posted by justicewalks | September 13, 2007, 9:35 am
  10. On the way into work, I heard the news and they stated that they will not be pursuing the hate crime charges because this charge only has a maximum 10 yr sentence. The sexual assault charges have a 35 yr maximum sentence. I pray for this young lady. Her life will never be the same, but with the proper assistance, she will be able to get through these times.

    Posted by Bean2Queen | September 13, 2007, 12:36 pm
  11. And, actually, I am a just a tad offended about the swift diversion of our attentions to the cruelties men inflict on animals, in the face of this story about what men have done to a woman.
    Yes, justicewalks there is something there. I noticed it as well but was not as confident or wanted to accept what was happening exactly. Or maybe I do and still do not want to think it is so close to people’s consciousness but in fact know the reality. Normally if animals are introduced it will be to describe the perpetrators. I have been following this story at What About Our Daughters, http://whataboutourdaughters.blogspot.com/ and there is often a reference about the Vick dog case but not in this same vein. Instead, it is about how people who should be highlighting cases such as this run to defend the likes of Vick. Why does the torture of a black woman make some think of the torture of animals? Are the same images brought up when thinking of the torture of white women?

    A woman, A WOMAN was sexually assaulted abused, raped and tortured, A WOMAN!

    Posted by E.K. "Kitty" Glendower | September 13, 2007, 1:50 pm
  12. Save a seat for me. If there are no seats left, I’d be okay with a spot on the cabin floor.

    “You can often tell how people treat each other by how they treat their animals.”

    Oh, great. I must be an ass kisser, then. :b

    Seriously, I’m not offended by the mention of men’s cruelty to animals in a discussion about men’s cruelty to women when it’s brought up as a point about out how men hate every living thing under the sun with the possible exception of themselves, which is what I read in Branjor’s comment. To men, it appears that women are nothing more than animals, and we are deserving of treatment no better than that of a dog, which is horribly abusive treatment.

    Posted by CoolAunt | September 13, 2007, 2:34 pm
  13. I think there’s tons we could unpack so far as public reactions to the abuse of animals and how racism figures in, and I’m going to read that link, Kitty. I think it’s really interesting to think about the way racism figured into the outrage against Vick (racist associations of black males with killer animals).

    I did want to say, though, that Branjor is deeply committed to the rights of animals (as I am as well). I don’t see it as insulting to compare a murdered woman to a murdered animal. HOWEVER, I’m white, and while in a certain way, I and all women, as females, have always been subordinated to men in the same way animals (and the earth) are and have been, and hence placed in the same category as animals — made to BE animals, in other words, less than human — there’s a racial hierarchy inside of that subordination as well, with women of color at the bottom of it.

    For the purposes of this discussion, I think Branjor’s reference went more to the complete lack of empathy or human emotion those who tortured the dog displayed, something like, who the hell ARE these people who can do this? Something like what Mary Daly, in exasperation, said in an interview once talking about males: “There’s just something wrong with that species.” When do we ever hear of little girls or young women tearing the head off a pet for shits and giggles?

    In this case of Megan Williams, we have women participating, though, evidencing that compassion and empathy are traits which are not hardwired in either sex. One thing I’ve found aggravating is the reference to the torturers as “mothers.” That figures in how? Mothers are a different breed of human being how? Do we see male rapists, murderers, torturers, referred to in initial, brief news reports as “fathers”? Heck no. Even though they usually are.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | September 13, 2007, 3:30 pm
  14. This story made me cry – I don’t care what any news station or authority figure says, it most definitely was a hate crime.

    Posted by Sunny | September 13, 2007, 3:35 pm
  15. I did not mean to single out anyone in particular. Perhaps I should have stated that. I have been reading it in general, for example when the AOL screen pops up there are hundreds of comments below and most of them are vile and turn quickly to the topic of torturing animals. The same for CNN.

    When do we ever hear of little girls or young women tearing the head off a pet for shits and giggles?

    I have been thinking exactly about that. As we see more and more women participate in brutal gang (as in a pack of people, a group) type crimes, I have to wonder if some women are adapting the brutal aspects of stereotypical masculinity that have been mostly confined to men, violence instead of appropriating other aspects. It goes back to that preferable adaptability that Gail Dines spoke about. What is have more credance as being one of the boys than acting like one of the boys. There was a time that men would not have told a woman what he had done because she would have surely reported him. It is as if blending traditional genders roles to some simply mean to adopt the worse qualities associated with that gender. I know I am bordering on inferring that women are the custodians of society, but if so, what is really wrong with that? The problem has been that women have been traditionally expected to be the custodians of sexual virtue which by associaton have included containing morality as well. So instead of men adapting the job of containing morality (with or without an element of sexual virtue) they have instead gained coconspirators.

    If I am making myself clear. It does not help that the subject is very painful to think about. It all seems muddled right now, but there is something there, something to do with women beginning to participate in gang torture and violence along side men.

    Posted by E.K. "Kitty" Glendower | September 13, 2007, 3:48 pm
  16. As we see more and more women participate in brutal gang (as in a pack of people, a group) type crimes, I have to wonder if some women are adapting the brutal aspects of stereotypical masculinity that have been mostly confined to men, violence instead of appropriating other aspects. It goes back to that preferable adaptability that Gail Dines spoke about. What is have more credance as being one of the boys than acting like one of the boys.

    YES. I think we can say that this is definitely going on at this point in history without also saying that women *should* be the moral compass of the world, reining in the men, which, as you say, has always been viewed as women’s obligation. I sure hope the day never arrives when *nobody*, male or female, cares about the traits which make for peace, love, harmony or beauty in the world.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | September 13, 2007, 4:01 pm
  17. No one should ever have to go through what they put her through I live in West Virginia and im white but you know what that should not matter no matter what race sex child or adult no one and i do mean NO ONE should ever go through some thing like that AND YES i do think its a HATE CRIME but you know what gets me if they do hate black people and thats what its seems to be which by the way if you cut a black person they cry and bleed the same as the next person then why did the seem to want to have sex with her Well anyway my hats off to this wonderful lady she is strounger then me i would have gave up after the first day Theres one more thing i know you have all read and know whats going on with this case WHY DID OUR SYSTEM that we trust in well some what trust in all the charges that all 6 of these monsters have had in the past why on earth were they set free and walking the streets ever heard of three starks your out In the state of Kanses they have whats called a grid so if you go to there state and get in to trouble and have been in the past don’t matter if it happen there or some other state if its the third time forget it cause your gone for a very long time i say put them in a building and lock them in with nothing on and turn the family members lose on them see how they like it but then again that would not be the way of GOD but we all have
    to die and meet our maker so there time is coming ok im done know

    Posted by Lena | September 13, 2007, 4:11 pm
  18. I didn’t come here to say that I was offended so that people would tense up and start acting as though I’m lobbing accusations of racism. I know that Branjor and Chloe didn’t mean to degrade the woman by comparing her to a pomeranian specifically, or to pets in general. However, if you, like I, feel that there is nothing ethically or morally wrong with maintaining a hierarchical delineation between humans and animals and our treatment of each, such that considerations for humans are prioritized over those for animals, the comparison can only serve to reduce women to the status of animals.

    I understand that for people who feel animals and humans are equals (and I am not one of these people), there is no degradation of the woman or minimization of her torture in inherent in the comparison, and I appreciate the color-blind intent of such philosophies. However, the effect of comparing a black woman to a dog is not apolotical, especially when I’ve never seen the subject of animal cruelty introduced into a discussion of brutality against white women. Let alone white men.

    Or even Hispanic women, for that matter. I’ve never seen the animal rights folks jump into a disuccion of the serial killings in Juarez, for example, or even that thread just a couple of days ago recapping the brutal dragging death of Luz Maria.

    Posted by justicewalks | September 13, 2007, 4:15 pm
  19. the effect of comparing a black woman to a dog is not apolotical

    Yeah, I agree, justicewalks. But you know, all women are compared to dogs all of the time, i.e., we are called “bitches,” “bitches in heat,” etc. Michelle Duggar gets compared to a pig nursing her piglets. For that matter, we’re called pigs, cows. Horrifically, the farm where the Metis women were slaughtered, butchered, was a pig farm, and the place where they were butchered was known as “piggy palace.”

    I think, although I have to think about it more, that I don’t agree with hierarchicalizing the treatment of animals and humans. I think that I do not, although I realize what a huge thing that is to say.

    I have seen animal rights people jump into all sorts of discussions of murder, etc., but not in feminist forums for, among other reasons, the reasons you mention. This is one reason for the difficulties and conflicts between groups like PETA and feminists. PETA is viewed as being misogynist in its advocacy for animals, putting animals before women, and it is and does. That’s totally wrong. Animals’ lives are not more important than women’s lives.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | September 13, 2007, 4:37 pm
  20. Yeah, I agree, justicewalks. But you know, all women are compared to dogs all of the time,

    I’m certain that the “piggy” in “piggy palace” had nothing to do with the women. If anything, it’s the “palace” part that had to do with women, the way whorehouses are always likened to castles, penthouses, estates, and mansions.

    In any event, linguistic comparisons of all women to animals is entirely different than feeling compelled to talk about the horror of pomeranian beheadings in light of this very specific black woman’s torture.

    Posted by justicewalks | September 13, 2007, 4:43 pm
  21. I think what Justicewalks is saying, and I would have to agree with it, is, yes women are often compared to animals such as “bitch,” ugly as a dog, and the pig as Duggar was (I remember when the African woman had eight children at one time from fertility drugs, her children were called a litter and I had not heard that before even though the previous women in the media having that many children were white), however, woc seem to be compared to animals at greater speed and more often than white women. I think this is one of those topics that cause division between women of different races and is worth validating.

    Posted by E.K. "Kitty" Glendower | September 13, 2007, 4:50 pm
  22. Well… the women were slaughtered there, exactly the way the pigs were slaughtered. They were referred to, by the butchers, as pigs, too.

    But yeah, WOC are more often compared with animals, agreed, which is what I meant when I said up there:

    while in a certain way, I and all women, as females, have always been subordinated to men in the same way animals (and the earth) are and have been, and hence placed in the same category as animals — made to BE animals, in other words, less than human — there’s a racial hierarchy inside of that subordination as well, with women of color at the bottom of it.

    Posted by womensspace | September 13, 2007, 4:54 pm
  23. These fucking animals. I do not know Megan and my heart bleeds for her, having suffered through this. As badly as I feel for Megan is about how badly I WOULD LOVE TO GET MY HANDS ON THAT HILLBILLY TRASH! I hope they rot in the deepset part of hell!

    Posted by Jeff | September 13, 2007, 5:03 pm
  24. I think what follows from an admission that there is a racial hierarchy, regardless of whether or not you feel there ought to be a hierarchy based on species, is an acceptance that it is not anti-racist to continue to compare nonwhite women to animals at more frequent rates than white women.

    When we start talking about the horrors of animal cruelty – not just making passive linguistic analogies between women and broodmares, for example – in light of the murders of white women, then maybe I’ll accept that there isn’t anything inherently racist about vocal concern for animals in the face of brutality against nonwhite women.

    I’ll be looking for those appeals to the safety of animals the next time you post about the violation of a white girl or woman.

    Posted by justicewalks | September 13, 2007, 5:05 pm
  25. and hence placed in the same category as animals — made to BE animals, in other words, less than human — there’s a racial hierarchy inside of that subordination as well, with women of color at the bottom of it.

    Yes, and the reality of this sucks eggs.

    Posted by E.K. "Kitty" Glendower | September 13, 2007, 5:05 pm
  26. Jeff, we all feel that way in some sense. OTOH, those feelings of superiority you got right there (hillbilly trash, etc.) are the same ones that led to this crime to begin with. Also, animals don’t do what those people did — in part due to their culture, our culture.

    Posted by Rich | September 13, 2007, 5:09 pm
  27. Okay, I allowed Jeff’s comment for one reason (and I won’t be approving any similar comments.) I wouldn’t dispute that Jeff does indeed feel for Megan. But describing the perpetrators as “hillbilly trash” is just more hatred, this time class-based hatred, heaped on top of all of the other hatred evident in this horrific event. These people did not torture Megan Williams because they are “hillbillies” or “hillbilly trash” or because this is the kind of thing “those people” do. Hating and stereotyping poor people isn’t going to address misogyny or race-based hatred. It’s just more of the same, a hair of the dog that bit in the first place.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | September 13, 2007, 5:09 pm
  28. Me: and hence placed in the same category as animals — made to BE animals, in other words, less than human — there’s a racial hierarchy inside of that subordination as well, with women of color at the bottom of it.

    Kitty: Yes, and the reality of this sucks eggs.

    Yeah, Kitty, and it’s a reality that can and does get erased, made invisible, when white women introduce animals into a discussion like this. We do have to recognize this.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | September 13, 2007, 5:12 pm
  29. We cross posted, justicewalks, but I totally agree with you.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | September 13, 2007, 5:14 pm
  30. When we start talking about the horrors of animal cruelty – not just making passive linguistic analogies between women and broodmares, for example – in light of the murders of white women, then maybe I’ll accept that there isn’t anything inherently racist about vocal concern for animals in the face of brutality against nonwhite women.

    I’ll be looking for those appeals to the safety of animals the next time you post about the violation of a white girl or woman.

    This is really important, justicewalks. Thanks for being so clear and eloquent. (And for giving the benefit of the doubt, too.)

    I don’t know. It’s like if we (meaning white women) say, “I don’t mean this to offend,” as Branjor did (and Branjor, I know you meant well, not meaning to single you out), then say something that is *just* more of the same thing that the whole world says that is racist, then what we say should somehow get a pass, even if it’s really destructive because of whatever reason. But you’re so right, justicewalks. It doesn’t get a pass. In this thread, and threads like it, to talk about cruelty to animals is going to participate in racism, no matter what our intentions or beliefs or political commitments.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | September 13, 2007, 5:22 pm
  31. These fucking animals.

    Whoa, I didn’t even see that in Jeff’s comment.

    Posted by womensspace | September 13, 2007, 5:25 pm
  32. Heart, thank you for understanding.

    Posted by justicewalks | September 13, 2007, 5:30 pm
  33. Thank you for understanding, too, justicewalks.

    Posted by womensspace | September 13, 2007, 5:42 pm
  34. I don’t know what to say about this, that photography of that poor young woman is killing me. I’m glad she’s got her family with her staying close and taking care of her.

    Posted by delphyne | September 13, 2007, 5:47 pm
  35. In further response re “hillbilly trash,” it seems right to say that a neighbor of the perpetrators helped Megan Williams the first time she was assaulted and even took her to talk to the police. The neighbors knew these people were violent and dangerous and this woman and her mother still reached out to help. Another person (maybe the same neighbor) reported that Megan was being held against her will to the police, and she was rescued.

    In one article I read, plans were underway to take Williams to the lake and kill her. One of the perpetrators just blurted that out when police questioned them. So whoever reported the kidnapping saved Williams’ life.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | September 13, 2007, 6:15 pm
  36. Here’s where I saw that:

    Logan County Magistrate Leonard Codispoti, who arraigned them, said Williams’ captors had planned to take her to East Lynn Lake and kill her.

    Codispoti said Frankie Brewster told him herself.

    “Frankie made the statement that they were going to kill her,” said Codispoti, a magistrate for 27 years. “She just blurted it out.”

    He said most of the suspects showed no emotion during their arraignment while one was arrogant and confrontational.

    http://www.dailymail.com/story/News/2007091254/Neighbors-say-Logan-abuse-victim-was-very-trusting/

    Posted by womensspace | September 13, 2007, 6:19 pm
  37. Oh, no way were they going to let her live. No way.

    Posted by E.K. "Kitty" Glendower | September 13, 2007, 6:33 pm
  38. Here is an additional atrocity.

    Frankie Brewster shot Bobby Brewster’s father’s mother four times in the back, and served six years in jail for killing her. Bobby Brewster then shot his father, and killed him, but he was only 14, so he served time as a juvenile. All six of the people had records of criminal violence, 108 counts against them.

    But they are all out walking around after having killed people, robbed people, killed each other, threatened each other with machetes, and so on. And now they have done this and intended to kill Megan Williams, by their own admission.

    Contrast that with the treatment of Renate Hill, one of the Lesbian Seven sent to prison for defending themselves against an assailant, who is serving 11 years in jail. She had no criminal record. The guy she and the others is accused of assaulting was stabbed by someone– video cameras do not show who it was. He recovered. He did not die.

    Link

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | September 13, 2007, 6:34 pm
  39. JW, I haven’t yet read all of the responses after number 13 and only the first sentence of your comment at number 18 (sounds like I’m spinning the top forty hits or something :b ). I’m not tense, at least not any more than usual, and definetly not because of anything you’ve posted here (or elsewhere, for that matter).

    I won’t say something dumb-ass-white liberal, like that I don’t see color because that’s one load-of-shit statement if I’ve ever heard one. I see plainly that Ms Williams is a young black woman. Yet even after reading about the decision that the crime isn’t a hate crime, I was still thinking in terms of Ms Williams being a woman and of the hatred being directed at her for being a woman rather than for being black. But what Heart had to say in her comment number 13 made it through, this time without being filtered by my white privelage way of thinking.*

    Anyway, my first reaction to your comment number 18 was to respond with that as my defense. Then it dawned on me that she wasn’t called “b****” and “wh***” as a white woman would have been called during that horrid ordeal. No, she was called those names and more preceded by th words “black” and “n*****,” proving that they hate and tortured her for being black and for being a woman – twice as much hate and violence inflicted upon her.

    I won’t say that I know how you feel because I don’t. I haven’t walked in your shoes. But I am hearing what you say and I’m getting it, slowly but surely it’s seeping through that filter.

    *(You know, the “where do I fit into all of this?” line of thought. Or, to rob from Twisty, the “WHAT ABOUT THE WHITEZ!”)

    Posted by CoolAunt | September 13, 2007, 7:09 pm
  40. I don’t live where there is such racial hatred toward Blacks. We’ve hardly got any (which is why, I know). Here it’s toward natives. And the first thing immigrants learn, black or white, Spanish, Russian Jew or Jamaican is who to hate around here.

    The epithets were whore and bitch. The words before that were adjectives. Black bitch, Jew bitch, fat bitch, old bitch. No end to it is there?

    That’s the only point I want to make.

    Posted by Sis | September 13, 2007, 7:55 pm
  41. I’m sorry if I offended you, Justicewalks and anyone else. I wasn’t consciously trying to compare women with animals but rather, like Branjor on how men will torture and kill any living around them.

    I agree with Heart in not wanting to hierarchize (sp?) animals and humans because humans are animals. Animals with very high brain development, but still animals and I don’t feel right about going around saying we’re “better” than any other species.

    I think of animals as brothers and sisters and cousins and when one of them is tortured and/or killed like a human (man or woman) would be, I feel the same amount of horror and upset for both.

    The whole thing did divert from the topic of Megan Williams, though, and I appoligize for that.

    Posted by Chloe | September 13, 2007, 9:05 pm
  42. Ah, but, Sis, you have forgotten about “nigger” and “kyke.” And “darky” and “coon” and “knuckle-dragger,” etc. Sorry I don’t know as many for Jews, despite my having recently been called anti-Semitic.

    Oh, and “niggress,” which nicely rolls it all into one word.

    Thanks, Chloe and CoolAunt. I know that no one intended any harm. I can even empathize with your sentiments. But it is not my privilege to live those sentiments, I hope you’ll understand.

    I love that – WHAT ABOUT THE WHITEZ!

    Posted by justicewalks | September 13, 2007, 9:47 pm
  43. Wow, there are a lot of things to say and I just got back from a 120 mile drive and am tired out, but will say this for now. There is a lot of talk here of “comparing” women, esp. women of color, to animals. Yes, that has been done a lot and my consciousness of that is why I prefaced my remarks about the little dog with “I hope nobody will be offended by my bringing this up.” But what was actually going on with me had nothing whatsoever to do with comparing the torture of Megan Williams with the torture of Tobey, the pomeranian pup. I had read about Tobey just hours before reading the post here on Megan Williams and my emotions were just raw, I was crying on and off, and then, when I read about what happened to Megan, I couldn’t believe the viciousness of some people all over again (I never get “used” to it) and I was reeling with the horror of what Megan must have gone through, while I was *still* reeling with the horror of what Tobey must have gone through. At that point, it was like I had reached a minor “breaking point” and, for the first time ever, I just mentally divided the entire world simply and starkly into “monsters” and “those who can’t even *fathom* the monstrosity.” It was actually a matter of the emotional load I was carrying after reading about *two* heartbreaking, horrible tortures in one day, and I just felt a need to talk about both of them.

    Posted by Branjor | September 14, 2007, 12:03 am
  44. *** It’s like if we (meaning white women) say, “I don’t mean this to offend,” as Branjor did (and Branjor, I know you meant well, not meaning to single you out), then say something that is *just* more of the same thing that the whole world says that is racist, then what we say should somehow get a pass, even if it’s really destructive because of whatever reason. But you’re so right, justicewalks. It doesn’t get a pass. In this thread, and threads like it, to talk about cruelty to animals is going to participate in racism, no matter what our intentions or beliefs or political commitments.***

    Now I’m offended. Are you saying that my mentioning of the cruelty done to this little dog is no better than a man comparing a woman to an animal in racialized terms, despite my “intentions”? That it’s “really destructive because of whatever reason”? Well, I’ll tell you, it’s *really destructive* only if you CAN’T TELL THE DIFFERENCE between what I said and a racist, misogynist, speciesist comparison of women and animals. And if you can’t tell the difference, you have *really* got a problem. I am not going to follow this “rule” that says I can never open my mouth for a moment about animal cruelty when we are discussing the torture of a woman. I honestly wish you had blogged about a white woman today, Heart, because I was so upset by the torture of the dog by the time I read about the torture of Megan Williams that I definitely would have mentioned it if Megan had been white too. Unfortunately, she’s not. Anyway, in the end, despite the rationalization, it sounds like what is being said is that women are too good to be mentioned in the same breath as animals and I cannot abide by that. If that’s what it takes to be a feminist, I don’t know if I can be a feminist.

    Posted by Branjor | September 14, 2007, 1:11 am
  45. I didn’t *exactly* forget because I’m not denying this was a hate crime against Black folk. But I’ve just never heard those words used here. Read them, heard them on television and movies, know they exist. Here?

    Squaw.

    Posted by Sis | September 14, 2007, 1:56 am
  46. No one here got that quite as wrong as the PETA turds, who haven’t figured it out yet.

    Posted by Sis | September 14, 2007, 1:59 am
  47. All of you HUMANE HUMANS have uplifted my soul. After reading what happened to Megan Williams & knowing all the physical & psychological burdens that will continue to be a part of her future as a result of these horrific CRIMES/ACTIONS against her & all black women/women I wondered if I could pick myself back up this time. IT IS SO DRAINING TO CONSTANTLY DEAL WITH THE RACISM & MISOGYNY. I’m amazed that women & POC get out of bed most days.

    Gratitude to Heart for your clear & compassionate discussion of this latest ‘how we love to hate women act.’ Thank you Justicewalks for fearlessly speaking out, & Kitty for always, no matter where I encounter you in the blogosphere, being direct in your opinions.

    Okay you sexists & racists out there read something enlightening, take a seat in a dark corner, immolate yourselves! No question, we are more courageous than you. And we are TIRED of dealing with your insanity!

    Posted by patsgirl | September 14, 2007, 2:06 am
  48. Welcome, patsgirl. 🙂

    Branjor, yes, I felt something like that was probably the context of your comment, and I know what you are talking about. I don’t think it’s about rules. Justicewalks tells me that to talk about a dog being tortured or murdered in a thread about the torture of a black woman participates in, is *like*, what racists have done and continue to do, historically, to black women, i.e., comparing them to animals– even though that is in no way what you or any of us here would intend. Nobody is saying anybody here is racist. It’s just, we’re not thinking about it that way because we don’t really have to (those of us who aren’t black). This isn’t done to us, as white women, in the same way it’s done to black women and so it’s not in the front of our awareness– all we’re thinking, out of our love for all women, and all animals, as well, is dear GODDESS on high, this is a murderous, horrible place for all of us to be living, where this can happen. But it falls on justicewalks’ and other black women’s ears differently, for good reason, in that it’s been used to debase and humiliate them. The issue really isn’t that it’s right or wrong to value animals as much as we value all human beings. I do, too. I feel precisely that way and more every day that I live. The issue is that we are *way ahead*, those of us who are feminists, in even *thinking* that way. The rest of the world sees a black woman tortured and makes a comparison with an animal being tortured. Though you are not doing that, none of us is, it *looks just the same to racists* and it’s what they do. That’s what we are less likely to realize, those of us who don’t have to live with that 24/7.

    I would like for this thread to continue to be about Megan Williams and what has happened to her. I’ll write another post, in a few days, where we can process these issues of animal rights and how they inform our feminism. I know your devotion to animals, Branjor, I share it, and I learned it first from you. I hope none of this is hurtful or offensive. The comment of mine you quoted where I said “whatever reason,” wasn’t directed at you– I was saying that no matter what our intentions are, as white feminists, we have to be aware of how what we are saying is falling on the ears of women of color and how it is being read by racists and others.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | September 14, 2007, 3:54 am
  49. About what those people (for lack of a better identifier) did to Ms Williams, my first thought is probably the same as everyone else’s, and that is how could any one person, much less six people, do any of the things that were done to Ms Williams to any human being? I can’t wrap my mind around it. I hope that the juries and judges won’t be able to wrap their minds around it either and so will show them no mercy.

    Secondly, why are crimes committed by men against women not hate crimes, particularly when the perp and victim don’t know one another? Besides hatred of women, what could be the motivation when a man commits a violent act against a woman he doesn’t know personally?

    Finally, the love and support of her mother as well as the guidance of a good therapist will surely be the basics in Ms Williams’ recovery from the horrible week of abuse she was put through. Should Ms Williams or anyone who knows her happen across this blog post and comments, I want to tell her that I’m sending positive vibes of strength and healing her way.

    Posted by CoolAunt | September 14, 2007, 4:25 am
  50. “Finally, the love and support of her mother as well as the guidance of a good therapist will surely be the basics in Ms Williams’ recovery from the horrible week of abuse she was put through. Should Ms Williams or anyone who knows her happen across this blog post and comments, I want to tell her that I’m sending positive vibes of strength and healing her way.”

    That was another of my partial thoughts in a post, as if others can read my mind and fill in the parts that join the beginning to the end on their own. Here’s the whole thing, sans the missing links. :b

    Finally, the love and support of her mother as well as the guidance of a good therapist will surely be the basics in Ms Williams’ recovery from the horrible week of abuse she was put through. Besides love, support and guidance from those close to her, the broader community should offer their support to Ms Williams, letting her know that we don’t condone what was done to her, that we have no empathy or support for those who harmed her, that learning of what was done to her both saddens and horrifies us, so that she knows that the rest of the community is in her camp, this community being that of women. So, should Ms Williams or anyone who knows her happen across this blog post and comments, I want to tell her that I’m in her camp and I’m sending positive vibes of strength and healing her way.

    Posted by CoolAunt | September 14, 2007, 4:39 am
  51. Forget labeling this as a hate crime- this is a human rights violation and should be brought up to the Supreme Court. these six “people” committed a horrific act against another human being and for that deserve maximum penalties starting with life in prison (no parole) stripped of American Citizenship- and each “person” must sign a contract that will allow for removal of their privilege to be classified as a human being and therefore unable to enjoy all the God given rights that human beings enjoy such as the right to life which means once in prison they can be treated in any way a prison guard or inmate seems fit. but lets focus on what the real story is- and it is this- these white “people” 3 men and 3 women took it upon themselves to totally humilate and torture a 20 year old woman. the victim of these ungodly acts is black so it ties in with the notion of slavery that these people believed that blacks are inferior and that they are nothing more than property- the fact that three women stood around and watched another woman be raped is unacceptable and unforgivable. they also made this woman eat dog crap. And another thing where is the outrage. When Atlanta Falcon QB Michael Vick was charged in this dog fighting ring there was a huge uproar and the Federal Government stepped in and acted all big and tough well now they have been presented with another opportunity to act big and tough and they find themselves debating if this is a hate crime or not Somebody needs to wake them up this woman was kidnapped that alone carries federal charges maybe if she were a pit bull the U.S. Government would suddenly be able to do its job effectively but sad to say she is a 20 year old black woman what does that say about us as a society, how does this play out in the international community. Let me start off by saying I am white and I find this totally disgusting what these people did to this woman is a crime and each one must pay with their life.

    Posted by John | September 15, 2007, 12:47 pm
  52. I’m running but – google the Anxious Black Woman’s thoughtful recent post on this and family abuse.

    Posted by profacero | September 16, 2007, 7:08 pm
  53. Thank you Heart for posting this horror. I’ve been trying and trying to deal with this one head on and just haven’t been able to yet. So, its conspicuously missing from my blog for the time being. I’m pleased to see it is being discussed in a meaningful way here.

    Take Care.
    Hazel.

    Posted by Hazel | September 17, 2007, 9:03 am
  54. This is more than a hate crime. In some countries they give the death penalty for kidnapping and rape. That’s what these 6 people should get! They should charged with whatever will give them the worst penalty. Life in prison is not enough!
    Love and prayers to Megan.

    Posted by Lynne | September 18, 2007, 7:10 pm
  55. I’m a West Virginian and that “Non Hate Crime” was committed about 1/2 a mile from my house! Supposedly, Al Sharpton is supposed to come down to this area sometime this week (9/16 – (9/22). I also heard that there are at least 2 more creeps on the lose, so my mom won’t let me stay home by myself because I have a registered sex offender above my house. I had always thought that it was a safe area. I was wrong!

    Posted by Taylor Kirk | September 19, 2007, 12:41 am
  56. Dito 51 John…I totally agree…

    Posted by Wendy | September 19, 2007, 4:46 am
  57. I don’t. John’s post is pretty vile:

    1. There is no reason to put “people” in quotation marks, as he (and CoolAunt) have done. The perpetrators are people.

    2. Punishing human rights violations by stripping someone of their human rights. It is how a pogrom happens. It is how most war crimes happen.

    3. Prison rape and other kinds of prison violence have zero part to play in appropriate and humane punishment. They are not punitive measures, they are *new* crimes of *new* violence with a *new* victim, thus perpetuating a cycle. And when the state tacitly allows this (as John suggests it should), it too commits human rights violations.

    Posted by funnie | September 19, 2007, 12:47 pm
  58. Exactly right, funnie. Yes, we are all enraged, but it’s never going to do participate in dehumanizing anybody, and prison rape is an atrocity that needs to end. To say — as people often say to me in comments I never approve — that so-and-so violent horrible person needs to be raped in prison is a hideous thing. We need to (1) end prison rape and (2) imo end prisons entirely! Not cheer vigilante-ism — of any kind, including in prison — from the sidelines.

    People in prison are somebody’s daughter, son, mother, father, sister, brother, friend, lover. Some are *innocent* and are in prison anyway.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | September 19, 2007, 4:12 pm
  59. Has Meagan Willians really been arrested? Have you heard anything?

    Posted by ekittyglendower | September 19, 2007, 5:15 pm
  60. ekittyglendower, profacero posted the link to the OJ thread and I responded there.

    ___________

    profacero | profacero@gmail.com | profacero.wordpress.com | IP: 65.1.94.22

    http://wvgazette.com/section/News/2007091824?pt=0

    They’ve arrested Megan Williams now.

    womensspace | Cheryllindseyseelhoff@gmail.com | womensspace.wordpress.com | IP: 207.170.212.75

    Oh my god, somebody tell me they did not do this. Oh please tell me these pathetic excuses for human beings did not.

    Megan Williams is charged with obtaining under false pretenses and writing a worthless check in Raleigh County, according to the Raleigh County warrant. The false check charge is for a $32.21 check to Dominos Pizza. The false pretenses charge is for $96.40 to the Kiddie Junction Consignment Shop in Beaver.

    In Greenbrier County, Williams is wanted for eight worthless checks, according to the warrant for her arrest filed in Greenbrier County. One of the checks was for $173.79 to BSR Auto Supply.

    She was wanted for two counts of worthless checks in Summers County, according to the warrant for her arrest filed in Summers County. One of the checks was for $220 to Jack W. Turner, the other was for $10.46 to Country Roads Store.

    A bench warrant out for Williams in Summers County is for failing to appear at the arraignment for the worthless check charges, according to the court document filed in Summers County.

    The original charges against Williams all stem from incidents in May 2006.

    After the magistrate completed the arraignments for the three different counties, Megan Williams was taken to the Kanawha County Courthouse to be processed. She was released on $8,000 bond.

    Her car was broken so she bought a part. She bought USED clothes and other things at the consignment shop. She probably paid “Jack W. Turner” to fix her car. She bought herself a pop, a hot dog and a candy bar at the corner store.

    Maybe she thought she had the money in the bank. Maybe she did and someone stole it.

    Who knows what the hell happened.

    But in this godforsaken culture, where rich white men effectively steal millions of dollars a day from the poor, there is no justification for arresting anybody like Megan Williams, let alone right now.

    This is criminal abuse, and the abusers should pay, and they never will.

    This is absolutely disgusting.

    Posted by womensspace | September 19, 2007, 5:36 pm
  61. i’ve just blogged about this. it is so utterly, unbelievably horrific.

    you look at pictures of her, and you read about her experience in court, and it is absolutely heartbreaking.

    i can’t think clearly about this, i can’t analyze it in any intellectual manner. it is just so wrong.

    Posted by ladoctorita | September 19, 2007, 9:16 pm
  62. I am so enraged that on top of all the horror Megan has already endured, the police fucking arrested her and put her alone in a holding cell. I may be a pacifist hippie, but this is one of those times when I just feel the strongest urge to punch those assholes (the cops) in the face. I don’t have words or rational thoughts about it, just rage.
    Does anyone have an address where we can send mail to Megan? I so want her to know we are on her side, and care about her, and are thinking about her.

    Posted by Eeni B. Bella | September 19, 2007, 11:47 pm
  63. The reason why the law is not trying to label it as a hate crime, is for the fact that in West Virginia( where this took place) has a simple charge for 10 yrs in prison. So by charging them for hate crimes, that will let them off the hook TOO easily. They want these bastards to be punished waaaaay more harsher than letting them go with 10 easy years.

    Posted by Beloved | September 20, 2007, 9:33 pm
  64. THATS OK. WAIT UNTIL THEY GET SETTLED IN PRISON. THEY GONE GET THEY ASS KICKED.. OVER AND OVER AGAIN.. JUST AS THEY DID THIS POOR CHILD. I FEEL SO SORRY FOR HER.

    Posted by TE TE | September 21, 2007, 2:06 am
  65. authorities now believe that megan was held captive for a MONTH, not a week.

    they also think she was abducted the day bobby brewster was released from prison- after serving time for assaulting megan!

    this really supports the theory that megan’s torture arose from bobby seeking revenge against her.

    links are on my blog.

    Posted by ladoctorita | September 26, 2007, 9:31 pm
  66. Done!

    Thanks for that.

    Posted by Mary Sunshine | September 28, 2007, 12:45 pm
  67. I pray that in time she will be healed from this unspeakable crime and that justice will prevail. We are all connected, we are brothers and sisters in this life. When you hurt my brother or sister you also hurt me.

    Posted by Tulsa Mimi | September 29, 2007, 1:30 am
  68. I just want to pray. For the peace…for the Justice. There are so many things that are coming to light, while I stay in the dark, out of harms way. Denying that this truly exsists. Just when I think we are making progress as a nation, while at war with a country, that is causing much debt in our nation as a whole, we are no longer progressing.

    70% of our nation is a paycheck away from being homeless. All women have to carefully live like we are prisoners, because there is always a threat in the mist for us.

    Black Women, are feared utmost and have to deal with this type of insanity, from family, and society.

    I ask that all prayer warriors…evolve and evolve….do not be conditional worshippers…the world needs our help.

    RED flags are popping up everywhere to show us what is really happeing in America. Do your part, and stand….pray for a change..and be strong enough to do your part when the time comes.

    It is definately coming. Between Jena6 and Meagan Williams and so many many more…we will be a awakened…and it won’t get pretty before it gets ugly….not this time!

    Posted by Deep Hilton | September 29, 2007, 4:19 pm
  69. Did you see that a Black teenager had her wrist broken in another race-based incident out in Palmdale CA?

    The 300-pound security guard called her “nappy head” as he mistreated her.

    What is happening in America?

    Posted by Villager | September 29, 2007, 11:46 pm
  70. The six should be put in a black prison, to serve there time… I don`t want to let may anger get the worst of me, am i hope my other black brother,an sister do the same.. we are of a higher race.. mind body and sole..

    To Megan, My heart goes out to you… Continue to be strong black woman… Love ..

    Posted by BLACK POWER | September 30, 2007, 1:26 pm
  71. I am all the way in a country you Americans undoubtedly would decree beneath you. But what I can unequivocally state is that NEVER in the history of my country (much less in the ripe old year of 2007) has such an atrocity ever been committed by one human being (6!) against another!!!!

    To add insult to injury, in a media-environment in which the colour of Paris Hilton’s newest skirt is broadcasted with such relish, why the major media-coverup?? What in heaven’s name is going on over there??

    My God? Is this REALLY the land of opportunity? Is this really the country which is the self-proclaimed police of the world?? Somebody’s backyard needs some major cleaning up! (Maybe if you tore down the 14ft wall you could get some Mexican to do the landscaping)

    There is a BIG handbasket and the US’ name is spray-painted ALL over it! Shame! Shame! Shame!

    Posted by Outsider | October 2, 2007, 2:17 am
  72. This story has became an outrage, but also shows the racism that still exists today. Do you know their is a post on another site that actually downplays this incident…I believe it is on http://www.belch.com..this is a sick and ignorant person, and obvioulsly capeable of doing the same. WHAT RIGHT DID THEY HAVE TO DO THIS. I dont care if she had 10 kids with one of the accused, NO ONE has the right to hurt another human in this manner…NO ONE. This type of ignorance makes me sick considering we all live in the same country, but yet ignorance still prevails…..its a sad world when someone actually insists that she is “stretching the truth” ect… when is someones word enough? who cares of the details. IT HAPPENED.. If she says she was held against her will then she was…Fear is an ugly stature. unless you have been in this situation……..”THOU SHALL NOT JUDGE”

    Posted by Rebecca | October 2, 2007, 12:35 pm
  73. I read different articles all based on this story. In it I found out she dated the criminal boy and trusted internet “friends” even after being threatened by the boy and his family. Some would say this should down play the racism. Bottom line, it doesn’t. There were mistakes made on her part and intentional actions on the six trifling individuals below. The e-mail I received did not mention anything. As if to say we are not smart enough to see this is still a sick and twisted act of violence while knowing the whole story. If I was an angry black woman I may have taken that information and moved on. Instead I read more about it. It takes a sick individual to do this mess. To think a teenage black girl is going to jail for about 7 years for knocking over a white hall monitor in Texas. PRIORITIES. Danny Combs is the only one that doesn’t look like a character from Resident Evil: The short bus. I hope the judges that keep letting these people out has a great sleep medication, because no real human being should be able to sleep knowing they let beasts out in a field of sheep. Bottom line I received this info via e-mail and there was a message that asked me to send it to all the BLACK people I know and tell the rest of the BLACK people I see and it wouldn’t hurt to tell white people too. Miss me with that mess. You perpetuate the racist BS when you speak in the same manner. They told Ms. Williams “This is how we treat niggers” so you are angry (understandibly), but how does it justify to say “This is how we should treat white folks”?. I say tell EVERYONE. This is about abuse, racism and torture. Terrorist won’t care what color american they are torturing will they? PRIORITIZE. This WOMAN was assaulted in a way that has no real word to describe how horrible it is, think about her not yourself.

    Posted by Yasmine | October 2, 2007, 5:53 pm
  74. on 19 Sep 2007 at 5:36 pm

    60 womensspace RE: Jail

    Although you can not excuse someone’s wrong doing because wrong has come to them, you can have some tact. She bounced some checks which means someone else’s bills are behind for thier company because there are NSF fee’s for business owners too. So there is the why, but the when…come on. You don’t put a tortured soul in a cell alone and you defer the issue until after the more severe issues have been thoroughly addressed. Tact people…damn. I am beginning to wish I was born in a country where we didn’t act like we didn’t do the malicious mess we do and lie about it daily. People are making it hard to be proud to be an american. This from a military dependant. Thanks people. Help her heal, don’t hinder her growth.

    Posted by Yasmine | October 2, 2007, 6:14 pm
  75. words can not describe what i feel right now…. this is totally inhumane… I would not wish even half of what she went through upon my worst enemy

    Posted by mary | October 9, 2007, 1:35 pm
  76. For anyone interested in sending monetary contributions to Megan Williams, please send a check made payable to Megan Williams to:

    Megan Williams
    c/o Sheriff’s Department
    300 Stratton Street Room 209
    Logan, West Virginia 25601
    If you have questions, you can contact the police department at 304-792-8590 and ask to speak with Sgt. Sonya Porter.

    Thank you. I know that she is not a woman of much means and will probably require additional medical care, including psychiatric care.

    God bless.

    Posted by Tanya | October 12, 2007, 5:55 pm
  77. whew in this age usa very starnge these nutters roaming after doing so much crime in the past, megan looks out here to me as if she has a learning difficulty, hence all the bad choices, maybe her mum had no support

    what ever it is i hope oparh or tyra set her on the right path best wishes megan

    Posted by bernie,,,, trinidad wi | October 13, 2007, 5:25 am
  78. Megan I LOVE YOU FROM A FRIEND TO ANOTHER…

    Posted by Jamaal | October 14, 2007, 5:56 pm
  79. MESSAGE TO ALL (BROTHERS AND SISTERS) ITS TIME 2 STAND THE FUCK UP DO WHAT WE HAVE TO DO BECAUSE THOSE MOTHER-FUCKING PALE ASS, DEVIL WORSHIPPING, DRUG JUNKIES, CEREAL KILLING, STINKING BODY, DOG LICKING, HUNKY ACTING CRACKERS ( SOME/MAJORITY WHITE FOLKS) ARE NOT LOOKING TO HELP US BEACUSE THEY DONT GIVE A SHIT, SO YOU KNOW WHAT FUCK THEM!!!!!!! (NOT ALL) AND I HOPE ONE OF THEM RACIST KIDS GETS IT x2!!!

    Posted by Jamaal | October 14, 2007, 6:05 pm
  80. Only one of Megan’s 6 abusers have been charged with a hate crime. Link to article –
    http://www. chron.com/disp/story.mpl/ap/nation/5533213.html
    (Copy & paste and delete space after www)

    The article also says that Megan is recovering from surgery that she had because of an injury from the attack.

    Does anyone have an address to send letters of support and/or money to Megan? Is the info Tanya posted still valid, 4 months later? (I guess I should call Sgt. Sonya Porter and find out).

    I also just read that Montel Williams gave Megan a $40,000 scholarship for college.

    Posted by Eeni B. Bella | February 14, 2008, 2:10 am
  81. Thanks, eeni, for posting this. How devastating that only one person has been charged.

    I looked up Megan Williams’ attorney’s name/address and his organization has a lot of information about how to help her:

    Send checks or money orders to:
    Welana Megan Williams Fund
    Chase Bank
    707 Virginia St.
    Charleston W. VA 25301
    – all money goes directly to the Williams Family –

    I’m going to make a new post about this–

    Thanks again, eeni.

    Posted by womensspace | February 14, 2008, 4:23 am

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,557,919 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos