you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

From Renata Hill’s Mother

 newjersey4.jpg

Renate Hill is one of the New Jersey 4 whom I’ve blogged about several times, including  here and here.  The following, written by Mollie Brown, Renata’s mom, was forwarded to me by Nicole. If you click on the banner above or on the button at the top of my blog,  you can learn how to support Renate and the three other women who have been sent to prison.  As far as I am concerned, these women are political prisoners. — Heart

 

amd_renatahill.jpeg

Renate Hill

The media has been as biased as the judge was in this case. The media made my daughter and her friends seem like they were out looking for trouble. The reporters didn’t even try to get the girls’ side of the story. My daughter and I would have welcomed a thorough police investigation of this case, but that never happened. Instead, my daughter Renata and her friends were wrongfully arrested, slandered in the newspapers, and put in prison.

 

According to the media, a group of Black women automatically equals a gang. We are always singled out as women, as lesbians, and as Black. This so-called “lesbian gang attack” is not being called what it really is, which is gay bashing. The man who put his hands around my daughter’s neck and tried to strangle her is still on the street, free to harass and attack other women, while my daughter is in prison for doing nothing but defending herself and her friends.

 

This kind of thing has been going on for a long time. I have gone through it all my life. I used to go to the West Village all the time to socialize and enjoy myself, but lately I’ve been afraid to go back there. I am suffering health problems as a result of the stress of this situation. Why should one person ruin everything for me and my daughter when we haven’t done anything but be ourselves? Lesbians should be free wherever we go. We are not criminals. We should not have to be ashamed of who we are. Our sexual preference does NOT make us less worthy of respect and common courtesy. We are hardworking citizens and members of our communities.

 

Renata has never been in any trouble before. Before this situation, she did not have a police record. I love my daughter deeply and I have always supported her. She is a good mother and a highly intelligent and creative young woman and I am very proud of her. I have never been separated from my daughter until now.

 

My 6-year-old grandson spent his birthday apart from his mother and he doesn’t even know why. He asks me every day when his mother is going to get out of jail. What am I supposed to tell this little boy? He shouldn’t have to go through this. None of us should. This cycle of gay bashing, hatefulness, and broken-up families has to stop.

–Mollie Brown

Discussion

7 thoughts on “From Renata Hill’s Mother

  1. I am so sorry about the injustice that thes brave women are living through. It so tragic that lesbians cannot live in safety, without the hate of male violence. I hold them in my thoughts, and hope that are fre as soon as possible.

    Posted by Rebecca | October 29, 2007, 3:55 pm
  2. Oh… that was heartbreaking.😦

    Posted by hexy | October 30, 2007, 3:21 am
  3. Er… no pun intended!

    Posted by hexy | October 30, 2007, 3:22 am
  4. One of the saddest things I’ve ever read.

    How… What… Why? There are just no words…

    Posted by Just Another Teenager Feminist | October 30, 2007, 5:17 am
  5. As far as I am concerned, these women are political prisoners. — Heart

    Absolutely.
    There is no difference between these women and Nelson Mandela of 20 years ago. None.

    If these women are not freed, then what hope is there of EVER a woman fighting back in self defence, by whatever method (and recall, most men are bigger, heavier, more muscular than women).

    The self defence laws have ALWAYS been stacked against women (the like-for-like rule). This does not take into account weight, height, muscle, fight experience, difference.

    And of course, in this specific case, it was never actually proven that the women injured the male aggressor. That point alone is suspicious.

    Anyone exercising self defence should be allowed to do so.
    But ESPECIALLY women. (currently; forbidden)

    Posted by stormy | November 3, 2007, 5:22 pm
  6. Mrs. Brown, I stand with your daughter in prison. I stand with your grandson as he asks when she will be released. I stand with you as you face understandable health problems since this has occurred.

    I just keep thinking that we need to get some positive media attention for this case – to link it to the Jena 6. I hear that other groups are trying to do just that, and I wish them luck with their efforts.

    With much love, Ben.

    Posted by Ben Atherton-Zeman | December 6, 2007, 11:44 am
  7. March 20, 2008

    Dear Ms. Brown:

    I read the story of your daughter and her friends. It seems to me the decisions the judge made was so far out really unbelievable.

    I was wondering if you were familiar with (A Call 4 Action)with Nidia Haan if not here’s the # 1(866)978-4232 call between 11:00 and 1:00 Monday thru Friday.

    Maybe they can help you. My prayers are with you and your family.

    Sincerely,

    Sanai Bunch

    Posted by Sanai | March 21, 2008, 1:53 am

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,558,002 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos