you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

My Article About the Feminist Hullaballoo in off our backs

I wanted to let everybody know I have written an article about the Feminist Hullaballoo I attended last June which will be published in the upcoming issue of off our backs.  I think it’s a great article and I’m proud of it, but I sweated blood over it,  so it’s been a long time coming.  I hope you all will read it (by subscribing to oob or ordering the newest issue)!  Once the article is published, I will continue my blogging about the Hullaballoo and will write about some parts of that historic event which I didn’t include in my article for publication and which I haven’t yet written about, for reasons you’ll understand when you read the article.

Not to pique your curiosity or anything.  :p 

I’ve been mulling over that weekend for months now.  The entire event was such a microcosm of the state of the feminist movement as it currently exists in the U.S.,  in all of its beauty and power and all of its difficulties and struggles.

I realize the completion of my promised report has been a long time coming (besides the easy parts, which I’ve already posted here and here and in a couple other smaller blog posts which you can find by doing a search on “hullaballoo”).  But again, I think you’ll understand the reasons the article was a long time coming when (and if, of course!) you read it.  I’m hoping we might be able process some of what I saw and heard during that weekend here on my blog.  If we could address and solve some of the issues which surfaced during that amazing weekend, as a movement, we’d be home free.

Heart

Discussion

8 thoughts on “My Article About the Feminist Hullaballoo in off our backs

  1. Oooh, I have an excuse to make a pilgrimage to my local feminist bookstore!

    Come to think of it, my mom was just asking me what I want for Christmas (Yule to you and me, I know) and I didn’t have a lot of answers. Maybe an OOB subscription is just the thing. Also, Heart, I’m going to ask my brother for Cree Summer’s CD Street Faerie — I found out about her here, when you posted Savior Soul!

    Posted by mekhit | October 30, 2007, 4:35 am
  2. Oops, I mean Savior Self. Damn it, I need to go to bed.

    Posted by mekhit | October 30, 2007, 4:35 am
  3. hey heart,

    I’m hoping the issue comes out soon!

    I would definitely like to hear what sort of issues were discussed.

    From everything I’ve read, it sounds totally amazing! I’m jealous I didn’t go. :-0

    Posted by Laur | October 30, 2007, 2:39 pm
  4. Can’t wait to read it. I have been wondering why you were having such a hard time with blogging about the Feminist Hullaballoo.

    Posted by branjor | October 30, 2007, 8:49 pm
  5. Hey, branjor, sorry about my long delay. Sunday of the Hullaballoo was tough. It’s taken me quite some time, honestly, to get to where I could write about it and feel confident about what I was writing.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | October 30, 2007, 9:18 pm
  6. I just recently subscribed to OOB, and I’ve been excited to hear more about the Hullabaloo – looking forward to the next issue!

    Posted by Ruthann | October 30, 2007, 9:54 pm
  7. Still haven’t gotten that issue. When is it supposed to come out? My subscription is up to date.

    Posted by Branjor | November 27, 2007, 2:42 pm
  8. Should be on its way soon, Branjor, though I am never in the loop as to these details so am not the best person to ask.

    Posted by womensspace | November 27, 2007, 5:33 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,563,261 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos