you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

Me on the Radio Tomorrow

Radical Feminism Lives


logotwo.jpg

WWW.FFILES.NET

Stream it live on Wednesdays from 11am-12pm at
WWW.WNHU.NET

88.7FM, WNHU

10/31 & 11/7/2007 

2007michfest_poster.jpg

GUEST: CHERYL LINDSEY SEELHOFF

TOPIC:  A Chilling Effect: The Oppression and Silencing of Women Journalists and Bloggers Worldwide, The Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival’s “Womyn Born Womyn” Policy, On What Radical Feminism Is and Isn’t and much more!

WWW.WOMENSSPACE.ORG

**********

CHERYL LINDSEY SEELHOFF is the creator of the Women’s Space websites and is a writer, speaker and News Editor for Off Our Backs feminist news journal.  She is a veteran of the anti-war and civil rights movements of the 1960’s and has devoted her time and energy to feminism for the last ten years.  She is currently running for President on the Free Soil Party Ticket. She is a radical feminist, not the fun kind.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Me on the Radio Tomorrow

  1. I just put a BIG sticky note on my computer reminding me to listen in tommorrow!

    Posted by Ruthann | October 30, 2007, 9:57 pm
  2. I’m hoping I don’t screw up end up trying to listen in Asian time or something.

    I love the little addendum link. Hee.

    Posted by Sis | October 30, 2007, 11:36 pm
  3. Hey,

    You’re website is back up! Congrats!

    I’m listening in, too!

    Posted by Gayle | October 31, 2007, 12:23 am
  4. Eww. I wrote ” you’re” instead of “your.”

    *Blushes*

    I just listened in on the East Coast. I’m at work so I only caught parts and pieces, but I really liked what I did hear. Nice job!

    I’ll listen to it again when it goes into the archives.

    One thing that struck me during the interview came when you spoke of the attacks that crashed your website. You said you noticed a tremendous amount of lurking prior to the attacks. I did not know this. Now I’m wondering if this increase in lurkers happens to other women bloggers prior to threats and flamewars.

    Obviously, you were being monitored, and probably still are.

    Posted by Gayle | October 31, 2007, 4:45 pm
  5. Hey, I rather liked it myself! I never remember what I said in interviews and I am always surprised to hear it, when I hear it.:)

    I thought Jackie was also *great*.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | October 31, 2007, 5:29 pm
  6. Tangent: Gayle I think I know why we do that. Your when we mean you’re and vice-versa.

    It’s because this medium is oral, not written. It’s not because we are illiterate, or careless, or don’t know better. So we “hear” ourselves saying the right thing, and it cancels out what we “see”.

    It’s an aspect of blogs/internet communication I find fascinating. It bridges those two ways of communicating in a way nothing else does.

    Posted by Sis | October 31, 2007, 5:54 pm
  7. I have a lot to say (comment!) on the interview–it’s the only one I’ve listened to IRL aka non-archived….but I was upset with the radio station for airing part of the interview, stopping, and then REstarting the interview. I don’t think, in the end, the entire interview got played.😦

    Posted by Laur | October 31, 2007, 6:12 pm
  8. Huh, I didn’t know that happened, Laur– I joined in late. It did seem chopped off at the end though! Well, I will e-mail Jackie and ask about it.

    Posted by womensspace | October 31, 2007, 6:16 pm
  9. Sis,

    Interesting theory about blogging being verbal. I’m not sure if I agree, but nevertheless, it was kind of you to mention it after my flub!

    Posted by Gayle | November 1, 2007, 1:43 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,563,345 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos