you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

Nowhere to Go

This song is what I’m feeling today. (I originally posted the Youtube video, but I guess you can’t embed the link anymore.  But if you click on the link, you can listen.)

I discovered Melissa Etheridge in 1996 via this song which played regularly at the gym where I worked out.   I kept hearing it, hearing it.  I’d never heard anything like it, it spoke to me so deeply.  I kept trying to find all of these ways to remember the song once I’d left the gym, even wrote down a bar and staff and some notes at one point hoping I could possibly sing it to someone who would know who the singer was.  Finally I found someone who told me that the singer was Melissa Etheridge. 

Over the years since then, I have bought every CD Melissa Etheridge ever made that I could find and buy (sometimes in triplicate and fourplicate because I’m hard on CDs).  I know people have been critical of ME for various reasons, but I’m not going there.  Hers was the first music I found and chose for myself, post-excommunication, post-my-second-divorce, post-my-sojourns-among-the-totalists, after years of listening to hymns and religious music exclusively, all other music having been rejected by my old world as too “worldly”.  I think Melissa Etheridge is an extraordinary talent.  Her music has been central to my making peace with what I have been through in my life at the hands of men and moving severely on.  Since discovering her music all of those years ago, I’ve gone on, of course, to find a whole set of women musicians, singers, songwriters whose music gets me through the day and the night, inspires me, comforts me, and keeps me putting one foot in front of the other when I’m tired of doing that.  No matter what woman’s music I am fixating on at any given moment, now and again I return to ME’s music, often during hard times, times of confusion or change.

So this is the song that first called my name 11 years ago, and wow, is it ever calling my name today, for the same reasons as at first and a whole set of new reasons.

Hugs to my women.

 Heart

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Nowhere to Go

  1. Hugs to Heart

    Ah Melissa Etheridge. I paid $17 (untraceable money order) back in the late 90’s to join her fan club, but not in my name but in the name of a man who hated women, who were openly hostile toward women that I served with in the military. I hate him to this day. In the military (overseas), the mailroom is a wide-open room. Each member has their name on a box or if not big enough the letter of their last name is a designated box. Often one would be in the mailroom when others received mail and read it aloud. Oh, the silent joy I got every time he cursed receiving something from that fucking dyke fan club.

    Posted by ekittyglendower | November 14, 2007, 6:35 pm
  2. What a dude. His name is legion, sadly.

    Thanks for the hugs, ekitty!

    Posted by womensspace | November 14, 2007, 7:13 pm
  3. A lot of Melissa Etheridge’s music speaks to me as well.

    Posted by thailandchani | November 14, 2007, 8:47 pm
  4. Isn’t it exciting to discover new songs from artists, just when you’re ready for their music!

    I felt that about all the Lilith Faire artists!

    Posted by Satsuma | November 14, 2007, 9:08 pm
  5. I loved that Heart. By way of return, the CD, Maria, by Cecilia Bartoli, is breathtakingly beautiful.
    I know less than nothing about opera, but the whole CD is about Cecilia’s love across time for the singer Maria Malibran. The last track Casta Diva, is sweet enough to bathe any weary Goddessian heart.
    The last lines read “Goddess, spread upon the earth
    that peace which you cause to reign in heaven”.

    Now that would be nice.

    Posted by helzeph | November 14, 2007, 10:56 pm
  6. Dance with me forever
    This moment is divine
    I’m so close to heaven
    This hell is not mine
    This hell is not mine… [from the Melissa Etheridge lyrics posted online; I always loved “Baby, you can sleep while I drive …”‘]

    Ah … also synchronicity … Synch-Crone-Icity … with the reference of Satsuma to Lilith Faire.

    Today, driving by a salvage store, I was “impelled” to stop by that umpteenth sense we have (when we’re robust enough to be resonant, and not too emotionally depleted by misogyny to sense Life multi-dimensionally).

    One of recycled CDs there for $1.99 was a Lilith Faire offering (undated) which has Sarah McLaughlin and Emmy Lou Harris singing “in the arms of the angels.” It wasn’t so much the amazing duo to reprise a cultural favorite but the cheers of the wimmin before, during and after. We are so beautiful. Our voices, rising, as angels on Mother Earth.

    If there’s an overarching call I’m seeing and sensing, it’s to experiment with how connecting to what’s beautiful, happy and empowering will vitally preserve us to persevere in the cause of womankind.

    We can detach when we need to, emotionally, from the tragedies, not to minimize the horrors in the male-dominant war against women but to save ourselves so that misogynistic men can’t wear us down emotionally into robotic male-identified sub-humans. It may be only a form of socially conditioned internalized misogyny to have the mistaken notion that we cannot find joy as long as oppression against any of our sisters exists. Instead, we deserve to preserve our own capacity for happiness. In this way, the R/Evolution occurs in each of our lives. And some of us will be left standing to carry the consciousness of a better and more compassionate way upon this Earth, outside men’s global rule.

    From the standpoint of metaphysics, energy, creative evolution, whatever you want to call the powers of the cosmos and nature, to honor the beautiful (Joy, as a catchword, however you can find it) could help us more than letting the knowledge of horrors take too much space in our daily lives. Certainly wherever we can help and provide comfort, we care enough to do that when we’re robust enough to do so. But there will be nobody left to really care if we fall in despair under the emotional weight of knowing about the ever-increasing global onslaught against us.

    The moon’s a sliver tonight. Somewhere a star knows your name. Lyrics live inside you, waiting to be written. The wind rustles the leaves, and the spider still spins her web.

    Strong Love,
    JB

    Posted by JBSproull | November 15, 2007, 1:56 am
  7. I believe some arias to be the voice of the goddess, and women on the opera stages of the world as the voice of the goddess!

    Posted by Satsuma | November 15, 2007, 3:20 am
  8. Ahh, Melissa Etheridge….

    I too, discovered her music about that time. She speaks to me with so many of her songs. I do believe I’ve collected all of her songs since. Brave & Crazy, I Want To Be In Love, I Want To Come Over, Breathe…a few favorites that come to mind.

    What a powerful artist she is.

    Thanks for this blog entry, Heart….You made my day brighter.
    Stillwater

    Posted by stillwater | November 18, 2007, 2:35 am
  9. I’m hard on CDs too. And CD players.

    I have a lot of women playing on the player today, all day. One of the most sexist cops in our department and one of my harassers got elected to head the officers’ union. Let’s just say, he probably didn’t draw the women’s vote, including the ones he hasn’t run out.😦

    Everyone’s shocked. I’m not. After all, I read every comment in my blog for nearly two years. So I’m blasting all the women CDs I have today. Tomorrow. The next day.

    I was reading comments on the articles about Kathleen Savio and Stacey Peterson and some of the women were telling their own stories and narrow escapes, and having to deal with the law enforcement agencies who also employ their abusers.

    Posted by bluewatcher | November 19, 2007, 5:44 am

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,563,469 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos