you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

“I’m Gonna Do It All” and Open Thread

Pippa at One Salford Feminist posted this youtube video a week or so ago and dedicated it to me and to her “two Janes.”  It made me cry and I’ve been listening to it sense, in part because Maggie, my 9-year-old, has it on her myspace page.  :)  So I thought I’d post it, too.  I am definitely going to find more Karine Polwart music to listen to. 

I have always been criticized, teased, resented, all the way to hated for being ambitious, high energy, hardworking, optimistic, courageous, accomplished, hopeful — qualities Polwart is singing about, really.    As women we’re not supposed to dream too big.  We’re not supposed to accomplish too much or  be too successful.  We’re supposed to know our place and stay there. 

So here is some inspiration — thanks again, Pippa! 

This is an open thread for everyone to say whatever, talk, process.  And while I’m here, I’m reminding everyone to get submissions in to Pippa for the Carnival of Radical Feminists — deadline is November 24!

Hugs and smooches to all.

Heart

Discussion

18 thoughts on ““I’m Gonna Do It All” and Open Thread

  1. Oh Heart! It brought tears to my eyes. She *is* my daughter, 30 years ago. And she has fulfilled her promise. I am so proud of her!

    I sent her this email:


    This girl’s song is about you, at the same age.

    xoxoxoxo Mum

    Posted by Mary Sunshine | November 22, 2007, 7:43 pm
  2. Ah! I even thought of your daughter, Mary. I remembered you said she looked like the homeschooled girl who won the geography bee that I blogged about a while ago, and I thought this girl had this same intelligent, determined, composed poise. 🙂

    It’s my daughters, too. All our brilliant daughters who want a world where they can BE brilliant and strong and happy.

    {{}}

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | November 22, 2007, 9:10 pm
  3. I love this awesome video..and i see ME in this strong little girl..and i have DONE so much…not always the things i planned on doing as a 10 year old….but definitely things i want to do NOW.
    This song ROCKS!!!

    moongoddess

    Posted by wintermoongoddess | November 23, 2007, 2:10 am
  4. Witchy: Thanks.

    xxxooo

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | November 23, 2007, 9:50 pm
  5. I’m going to do it now! Good title for the next song. This was really a great little song. Reminded me very much of my 10-13 year old self, and my aggressive and all encompasing ambition in life– always disturbing when women are boldly and unapologetically ambitious.

    Could relate to all the women who carp at women for wanting to be multi-millionaires — self-made of course, or brilliant thinkers and writers, or Speakers of the House.

    Let’s celebrate all the girls who catch those big fish, climb mountains and shoot clay pigeons in the air!

    I’m going to celebrate a lesbian country someday! 🙂

    Posted by Satsuma | November 23, 2007, 10:58 pm
  6. Satsuma! What a coincidence to find you here! I stole (with credit, of course) your lalaLA sentence for a post. At first, I highlighted the whole thing with a link back to Amy’s Brain where I found it, but then decided that since it was the first link, any (non-existent) readers might get confused as to why I did that; and also I couldn’t figure out a way to get your name into the sentence to give proper credit without screwing up the rhythm. So I gave credit at the very bottom.

    If you wish something else, please please let me know. Your sentence got the point across most excellently! I included my addy for you Satsuma, I hate people who troll other sites just looking for readers for their own blog! (I forgot to disable the addy the other day when I posted here.) Besides, my blog is kind of wacky, not fit for serious or mainstream consumption. I feel like apologizing for it all the time. I don’t want to make the genuine feminists look bad.

    But no feminist that I know about is discussing the intersection of cheap energy contraction and sexism; and this concerns me. Are feminists not aware of Peak Oil? Anthropologists are in agreement that in societies which have experienced resource contraction, the status of women has ALWAYS declined. This seems like kinda a stupid thing to just keep ignoring, but perhaps they have a good reason?

    (I’m not criticising Hearrrt!) 🙂 I should go write something, instead of pointing the finger!

    I too want a womYn’s land, preferably close to where I am, but would consider moving if it were possible.

    Posted by feminazi | November 24, 2007, 8:33 pm
  7. Hearrrt! What a great idea of the open thread! I feel a tiny bit bad about dropping into people’s threads with some other topic, as I did the other day. But I figured you’d probably be interested in the news.

    Also, Hearrrt, I wanted to thank you. All people, not just women, have much to thank the hard-working feminist activists and daily bloggers for. If it wasn’t for the unceasing efforts of feminists making incremental improvements in people’s attitudes over time, women would never be where we are today. You personally have done a lot, probably accomplished and influenced more than you realise. I really am grateful for you Hearrrt!

    Posted by m Andrea | November 24, 2007, 8:38 pm
  8. Hey, mAndrea, please link to your blog, and I’d love to add you to my blogroll! I think it’s great when radfems provide links to their blogs here. If anti-feminists do it, I just delete the link. 🙂

    Posted by womensspace | November 25, 2007, 1:05 am
  9. feminazi,

    I can’t remember writing a lala line, but then I’m a very stream of consciousness writer. At least as a blogger– probably out of my continual fear that my computer will suddenly shut down, and out the Windows it will go.

    “feminazi” is kind of a creepy computer name, however. Hope you have no Jewish relatives, since it’s a pretty serious word.
    I believe Rush Limbaugh invented in the late 1980s, and am surprised it is in use on feminist sites.

    As for promoting my blog, I never had one, but I do like to support other blogs if the topics interest me.

    This is a particularly good one, so enjoy!

    The songs on it, and film clips are very well chosen, and this little song is so clever and the production value so good… can hardly believe it is the voice of a small child singing the song!

    Posted by Satsuma | November 25, 2007, 8:16 am
  10. Satsuma, yes it does have creepy connotations, and many times I’m embarrassed about just how hateful it sounds at first (and second) glance.

    But it’s also very very strong, extremely I’m-in-your-face-patriarchy-so-what-are-you-gonna-do-about-it statement.

    It’s the patriarchy who coined the term, in order to put feminists down; and they use it as a reminder to women of what NOT to be: don’t be a man-hater (even though we’ve treated you like crap for 6000 years). Don’t be a man-hater (even though we’re not gonna EVER stop treating you like crap).

    Feminazis are the boogey man under the bed that misogynists like to scare each other with. They’ve never met an honest-to-goddess man-hating woman in their lives, and I’d like to show them what that myth would actually look like in reality.

    It also has the psychological benefit of making genuine feminists look sweet and innocent in comparison — maybe, I’m not sure. It could backfire, so I’m trying to tread carefully.

    Shhhhh! When I was a small girl, any attempt to substantiate the rumors about some of my relatives was met with screaming and a violent slap to the face. The Grandma on my dad’s side of the family kept pretty candles in her bedroom, which I now know with absolute certainity was a menorah, but everybody insisted that no, there were no jewish-germans in our family. (My last name is so obviously german-jewish to a genealogist it’s not even debatable.)

    I have no idea really, parts of my family are so crazy and secretive and disfunctional that I gave up trying to understand them. I also have some Irish, Native American Indian and Afrikan relatives, all of whom are comfortingly normal, yay!

    Posted by m Andrea | November 26, 2007, 9:44 pm
  11. The spam collector ate my comment, I think.

    Posted by m Andrea | November 26, 2007, 9:47 pm
  12. The way Akismet (the spam filter) is supposed to work is, if you tell it a bunch of times that it was wrong, something was NOT spam (by going to the spam cue and retrieving it), it’s supposed to “learn” and stop sending stuff from that person to the spam queue. Sometimes it learns right away and sometimes it takes forever. For months after the anon attacks I had to fetch my OWN comments out of the spam queue (because anon idiots had tried to comment under my name and I then spammed them, which “taught” akismet to spam comments written under my name!). Even though I was fetching my own comments daily, it took forever to “learn”.

    It’s got a few bugs yet.

    Posted by womensspace | November 26, 2007, 9:51 pm
  13. I have no idea really, parts of my family are so crazy and secretive and disfunctional that I gave up trying to understand them.

    Mine, too. Maybe we’re distant cousins.

    Posted by CoolAunt | November 26, 2007, 11:29 pm
  14. Thanks M Andrea for explaining your choice of “feminazi” now I completely get it. It’s the word “Dyke” for you that scared the living hell out of men back in the day. We loved the “sccaawey” word Dyke. So now I can see the connection!!

    Next generation… just as clever as hell!!!!

    Posted by Satsuma | November 27, 2007, 3:30 am
  15. I saw Karine live here in Glasgow, she’s astonishing. I recommend “Only One Way”, it’s a proper feminist anthem.

    Posted by Susannaaaa | November 30, 2007, 4:12 am
  16. Came here by way of Linda at fourlittlebirds – have not had time to explore yet, but this song and your blogroll alone tells me that I need to make time, right now!

    j.

    Posted by j | December 1, 2007, 2:54 am
  17. Hey, Kiuku, I e-mailed you at the e-mail you include with your comments, if you wouldn’t mind taking a look.

    Thanks!

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | December 10, 2007, 11:24 pm
  18. Just a quick note to say I’m working on two interviews (both of which are pretty dang late :/), (interviews as in, I am being interviewed, one is for a magazine, one is for a book) (details will follow). And I have a very sick kitty, my beloved soul mate kitty, Flower (I call her Mama though). She is really, really sick. She disappeared for three days from Friday to Sunday and I found her in the barn looking horrible. I took her to the vet and they did blood work, etc., on her and didn’t find anything except that she is anemic and was dehydrated. They rehydrated her and put her on antibiotics just in case, and I took her home. She ate a little this morning and drank some water but she has diarrhea and I am so scared for her. 😦 Chloe was my beloved dog soulmate and Mama is my beloved cat soulmate. I swear she is a wise, old, ancient soul, Mama is. She has eyes that go forever and I have always had such a bond with her, among all my kitties, she’s the One.

    Anyway, these things have me preoccupied and busy. I am not ignoring comments here or on my boards, I’ve just got an awful lot going on right now, so sorry to give short shrift to a lot of good stuff.

    I’ll be back soon, though.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | December 11, 2007, 11:17 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,563,261 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos