you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

Alice Walker on Barack Obama

What Alice Walker says on this video is beautiful, hopeful, and well worth watching no matter what candidate you support.   I love what she says about writers.  I love what she says about needing a President who is in touch with the real world.  I love what she says about the importance of having a President who has known and loved and walked alongside many, many people in many different circumstances, people of all different backgrounds, races, ethnicities.

Made me cry.  My oldest daughter sent the link to me– thanks Jenni. 

Heart

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Alice Walker on Barack Obama

  1. Thank you Alice Walker. Very nice video and a pleasure to listen to. Thanks for sharing. Please you women out there take note,,,there is an alternative to hc. We do not need a clinton,,,, the clintons, back in the WH

    Posted by Harried | February 7, 2008, 6:11 pm
  2. what a sweet woman. 🙂 i love what she said about daughters.

    Posted by avril joy | February 8, 2008, 2:28 am
  3. I love Alice Walker and have read just about everything she’s ever published.

    Honestly, I’m baffled by this video. Obama is as much an establishment candidate as HRC is. So why does Walker think he’d be anything different in office? I heard what she said, but I’ve also heard him and it doesn’t mesh.

    She’s a feminist, an environmentalist, an animal rights activist. He’s, frankly, more of the same.

    I just don’t see what she sees.

    Posted by Gayle | February 8, 2008, 2:28 am
  4. Thanks Heart! I needed to hear that. I wrote about my support of Obama (and my mother’s of Clinton) on TiyospayeNow. I am also trying to understand why I am drawn to him and I do think it comes down to history. The political education I received as a young person during the Bush/Clinton/Bush years. Those administrations cover my entire voting life.

    In my post Mixed-Blood Like Me I try to come to terms with my distrust of politicians like the Clintons. It was President Clinton who signed the Relocation Act that dispossessed hundreds of traditional Navajos of their land and condemned that to live on uranium-contaminated land and give up their traditional way of life to make way for coal strip mining. Senator Clinton did not stand up against the Bush administration’s call for war in Iraq when it mattered to me. For my mom, it means more that she is a woman than any of these things and I guess, that is a generational issue. My chei (Navajo for grandpa) used to say that it was important to be flexible like a tree and bend in the wind, but if you bend to much you’ll grow crooked. I think that is a very apt for this situation.

    Posted by Jacqueline Keeler | February 9, 2008, 3:09 am
  5. Best news I’ve heard all day: Jacqueline Keeler has posted to her blog! I’m heading over as soon as I finish this comment.

    A huge yes to everything you say there, Jacqueline. And you know, I, too have always been drawn to Obama, as are most of my kids, maybe all, but I haven’t taken a poll. 🙂 I have a post in the back of my mind that began when I watched this video and that is right in sync with some of what you’ve commented there, entitled “His Mother is White,” and what his candidacy as the mixed race son of a white mother and an African father means to me. The photos of him in Alice Walker’s video in the arms of his white mom– I started to cry and teared up off and on for the rest of the day.

    And here you are with thoughts like this — Mixed Blood Like Me, I can’t wait to read.

    I’ve never trusted the Clintons. I’ve tried to think through that, process through it, “get over it.” Although I dearly want a woman president, still, I don’t trust the Clintons. Then again, I don’t think I could ever trust anyone, especially white professionals, able to loan their own campaigns $5 million dollars and up, just like that. These are not my people. I don’t relate to them.

    So hideous the Relocation Act! Another thing no one is talking about is the fact that ALL of the candidates support that horrific fence between Mexico and the U.S. I don’t really understand how Obama can support this. Maybe I should look again, see if I got it right.

    Well, again, what a wonderful gift on a Friday night, your inspiring writings.

    It’s always good to read you, Jacqueline.

    Heart

    Posted by womensspace | February 9, 2008, 4:51 am
  6. Here’s a link to an earlier post I wrote about some of the effects of the Relocation Act on Navajo people and Navajo Grandmothers’ resistance:

    Diné Grandmothers’ Resistance Gains Strength

    How the hell do you vote for those who supported the act that created this hell for the Navajo grandmothers, mothers, children, the Navajo people?

    How?

    Posted by womensspace | February 9, 2008, 6:16 am
  7. Thanks so much Heart for your kind words. I actually volunteered on Saturday for the Obama campaign during Washington state’s caucus. I live in the Portland area, but I drove over the Columbia River and was a precinct captain for Obama in Camas, Washington. I’d never been there before! The voters were great. The turnout exceeded anything the Democrats had before and Camas is normally a very Republican stronghold. My precinct’s delegates went 8-2 for Obama. I was shocked. There were so many Hillary signs and campaign workers, but when the tally was made, Obama got most of the votes. I’m writing a blog about it, which I’ll post tomorrow.

    Posted by Bahesmama | February 11, 2008, 7:34 am
  8. Hey, Jacqueline– my daughter (16) went to Seattle to see Obama at the Key Arena. There were WAY too many people there, far over 21,000 and she couldn’t even get close to the Arena. She was so disappointed!

    Obama sure did take Washington, didn’t he!

    I look forward to reading your post. 🙂

    Posted by womensspace | February 11, 2008, 7:38 am

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,557,916 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos