you're reading...
Pre-2008 Posts

Min Moðir/My Mother

(Embedding has sadly been disabled, but if you go to this link, you can watch the video— so worth it.)

Eivør Pálsdóttir – Min Moðir (“My Mother”)
The music of my womenfolk going back many generation helps to hold me together, body and soul, right now.  So much that we have together as a people, as women, is unspeakable in language, in words, even for those of us for whom words and language are our life.
Offered to you with much love, circle cast, candles burning, prayers like breathing.
Heart

 

 

 

 

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Min Moðir/My Mother

  1. That truly was an amazing performance! Thanks for sharing!

    Posted by Abbey | April 13, 2008, 12:59 pm
  2. A great voice, thank you for this lovely video. Just added your blog to my bookmarks.

    Nadine

    Posted by Nadine | April 13, 2008, 9:15 pm
  3. Heart what is happening with you. We are worried.

    Posted by Sis | April 13, 2008, 11:32 pm
  4. I don’t mean to worry you, Sis, and thanks for caring. I can’t write about what’s happening publicly, and I’m not emotionally able right now to write about it privately either, it’s something to live through day by day, it’s not over yet, and I don’t know when it will be over or what the outcome will be, it is absolutely, completely, one hundred percent out of my control. All I can do is watch and pray and believe for the best and pay attention as best I can and lean into every kind of support I can find for myself. I’ve never gone through anything like this before and I don’t even know how to begin to process it.

    I’m still here, I will be able to write soon, right now, every day I sit down in front of my computer and find I just can’t write right now.

    Posted by womensspace | April 14, 2008, 1:18 am
  5. I certainly (no one else either) expects you to write. But we can’t help but worry. I hope you are physically safe, and all your family.

    Posted by Sis | April 14, 2008, 2:04 am
  6. I have just prayed for you and yours, Heart, and will continue to do so.

    Posted by Level Best | April 14, 2008, 1:58 pm
  7. Hope all eventually turns out for the best in the end. Not an easy time, but then again, sisters can help you get through too🙂

    Posted by Satsuma | April 15, 2008, 7:26 pm
  8. Eivør Pálsdóttir is absolutley amazing, check out her other YouTube-videos as well =)!!! Min Moðir is a very strong and beautiful. This is what music really is about…

    Posted by Annika | May 8, 2008, 1:23 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,557,802 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

The Farm at Huge Creek, Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, The Feminist Hullaballoo

206672_10150156355071024_736021023_6757674_7143952_n

59143_424598116023_736021023_5026689_8235073_n

Afia Walking Tree

More Photos